Apple and Pear Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
I tweaked this recipe as others suggested. I used 3 tbls. of butter, and started sauteing the onion as I was peeling, coring and cutting the pears and apples. I used chicken broth as well. Still, it was a little too sweet for my taste. I did not want a dessert soup. When I was reheating it after pureeing it, I added more sage, pepper, and decided to throw some savory in there. It is perfect now according to hubby.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
Okay so I had to modify this recipe even from the suggestions but a VERY good base recipe to start off with. Modifications I used: 7 Cups of water (I am strict vegetarian so chicken is out as is veggie broth b/c most contain some meat byproduct) 1 cup of yellow label freshly brewed tea (tannin's help kill sweetness) Ginger paste 1.5 teaspoons 1/4 Cup of cranberries 1 medium size onion 1 tablespoon of Italian seasoning (I didn't have bay leaves, sage, parsley on hand) Sounds strange with the tea but I have substituted tea a lot for broth and it always adds that extra flavor plain water doesn't have. Worth a shot, I enjoyed it as well as my hubby.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
This tasted like a heated up applesauce. I even used chicken stock and added onions like others suggested, but it was very sweet/tangy. Also thought it had too much ginger. Guess it just wasn't for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
Really easy, filling, unique. GREAT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ellen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
Great soup! I too used chicken broth instead of vegetable broth. I also added an onion...soup was a perfect blend of savory with just a hint of sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
I love this soup! I used chicken broth instead because I didn't have vegetable broth. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
This soup is great as is, but could be improved. The original recipe is quite sweet and tangy which is good but I prefer a bit more savory. I made one batch exactly as written and found that I needed more so I made a half batch, adding an onion and using chicken stock instead of vegetable to make a more savory blend. When the two were mixed together it came out PERFECT! Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lilichristianson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ashburnham, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
Great tasting soup, the ginger really makes it good! I'll be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Curried Pear Soup

Learn how to make an elegant curried pear soup garnished with sweet yogurt.

Egg Drop Soup (Better than Restaurant Quality)

See how to make restaurant-quality egg drop soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States