Apple and Pear Crumble Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
Just made this and loved it! The only thing I did differently was omit the brown sugar in the apple pear mixture. I thought that the 3//4 of a up of brown sugar in the topping mixture was plenty. It was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
I made this for dinner tonight, but since I am trying to lose some weight, I cut down on the brown sugar. Having scaled the recipe to four servings, I used 1/4 c. in both the crumble and 1/4 c. in the fruit. It was perfect! My husband deemed it amazing, and I wish I could have had a full size portion! Thanks for a keeper, Mel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Adell, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Hingham, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JenToBeach
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
Thanks for sharing a great recipe. Simple to make and my entire family loved it served with vanilla ice cream. I made exactly as written and would not change a single thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenToBeach

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
I really liked this recipe and decided to change it up a bit just to see what I could do since the basic recipe was so good! Mostly, like a couple of other posters mentioned I cut down on the sugar on the actual fruit some. But that would be to personal taste. But what I also did was try different fruit! I think this would work great for just about any seasonal fruit you could think of! My current fave is nectarines. I just cut them up like apples and then tossed them in a small amount of the brown sugar and put the cinnamon in the topping instead of on the actual fruit. Everyone that has tried it has said it was wonderful! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Taylor

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
I made this as directed and has too much sugar. I think I would cut the sugar mixed with the apples down to less than half and add some lemon juice to balance the flavor (depending on the tartness of the apples) . I would also add some salt to the topping to balance out the sweet there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
Just made this. It was very good, but very sweet! Next time I will definatly cut down the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
Loved it along with family. not only as a dessert but for breakfast also
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
Made this last night & my teenage son ate half the pan after his soccer game! We loved it with ALL the sugar plus chopped pecans on top for extra crunch. Served it hot with vanilla ice cream & it was AMAZING! Tasted like apple pie ala mode but better! Thank you for an awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
Very Good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
I took the advice of others, omitting the sugar from the fruit mixture and adding a bit of salt to the crumble. It doesn't taste bad, but there is too much crumble and it is a bit dry. I think that decreasing the oats and flour by a bit, and increasing the fruit (using a bigger pan), would address that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Crumble Pie

This fresh apple crumble pie is delicious and as easy as pie.

Oatmeal Cookie Apple Crisp

Dessert that combines apple pie filling with cookie-like topping.

Apple Crisp with Oat Topping

Cinnamon apples bake under a simple topping of sweet, buttery oats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States