Apple and Pear Crumble Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
Loved it along with family. not only as a dessert but for breakfast also
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
I took the advice of others, omitting the sugar from the fruit mixture and adding a bit of salt to the crumble. It doesn't taste bad, but there is too much crumble and it is a bit dry. I think that decreasing the oats and flour by a bit, and increasing the fruit (using a bigger pan), would address that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
For what it's worth, I didn't bother peeling the fruit. It didn't make it any less delicious (and increased the fiber content!) I did take the suggestions of reducing the sugar to about 3/4 cup total, 1/2 cup in topping and 1/4 cup in fruit. I also doubled the cinnamon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
I think it should've cooked a bit longer or hotter. I think the apple mix was missing a splash of lemon juice and some cornstarch. The juices were watery and didn't stick to the apples. And the topping was not good at all. The oats didn't get moist enough and it ended up dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by steff t
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
I used gluten free baking flour, a 1/4 c brown sugar in the crumble and 1/4 cup brown sugar in the fruit and it turned out great!!! And totally gluten free!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
Even my 19 year old who complains liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
I added some dried cranberries in with the apples and pears, but otherwise followed as written. Mixed reviews from the family. I personally didn't like the "crisp" part at all. Heated and served with ice cream and it was a little better. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
this recipe is so much easier than others I have tried: chop the fruit (my pears ended up being bad, so i used frozen blueberries), thow in the pan, mix the dry ingredients and put on top! easy peasy! and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
Made this last night & my teenage son ate half the pan after his soccer game! We loved it with ALL the sugar plus chopped pecans on top for extra crunch. Served it hot with vanilla ice cream & it was AMAZING! Tasted like apple pie ala mode but better! Thank you for an awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
I really liked this recipe and decided to change it up a bit just to see what I could do since the basic recipe was so good! Mostly, like a couple of other posters mentioned I cut down on the sugar on the actual fruit some. But that would be to personal taste. But what I also did was try different fruit! I think this would work great for just about any seasonal fruit you could think of! My current fave is nectarines. I just cut them up like apples and then tossed them in a small amount of the brown sugar and put the cinnamon in the topping instead of on the actual fruit. Everyone that has tried it has said it was wonderful! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Taylor

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Crumble Pie

This fresh apple crumble pie is delicious and as easy as pie.

Oatmeal Cookie Apple Crisp

Dessert that combines apple pie filling with cookie-like topping.

Apple Crisp with Oat Topping

Cinnamon apples bake under a simple topping of sweet, buttery oats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States