Apple and Onion Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2001
this makes a great thanksgiving stuffing for turkey. however, i would suggest cutting down the amount of butter called for, and add some chicken broth (about one cup). this makes the stuffing more moist and cuts down on the fat content.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2005
I made this for Christmas dinner and it was pretty good, but not as good as I had hoped. If you follow the recipe as written, it makes a LOT of dressing-- definitely more than will fit into a 2 quart baking dish (8x8) as the recipe calls for. I put it in a 9x13 pan an it was almost too much for that! I used a 16 oz package of Pepperidge Farm stuffing mix (right at 7 cups) and a little less butter (I poured some pan juices from my baked chicken over it) but otherwise followed the rest of the recipe pretty closely. The apple in it was very good and that's what my husband particularly enjoyed. Sunmaid now makes "baking raisins" which are already plumped up-- no need for soaking, which was very convenient. I think if I try this again I'll make only half and will try to use plain bread cubes instead. It was good, just not as yummy as I had hoped for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lianne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centreville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Concord, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2005
A quick shortcut is to use StoveTop stuffing and add all the fixin's to it. Taste great and so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vacaville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2006
YUM! I make this stuffing every year now for Thanksgiving and it's always a hit. Use whole wheat bread for a nutty flavour. Add about 1/4 cup of chicken broth otherwise it's too dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2003
This is the same recipe that my grandmother used to make years ago. It is excellent!!! A nice addition or change to "Sage" dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
I am marking this down - not for taste but for lack of broth. I used 1/2 cup of butter (could have used less) but had to add quite a bit of broth to pull this together. Tasty with the broth - without it it would have been really dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
Very good! I took the suggestion from another reviewer of using Stovetop stuffing mix since I didn't have stale bread to use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CeliaBelia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
This dressing is wonderful! I cut down the amount of butter in it by 1/2 (trying to be health conscious), and added some chicken broth (as others suggested). I cooked it in the chicked and it was wonderful! will definetly use many more times! I also used 1/2 golden raisins and 1/2 dark raisin b/c i ran out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
very very good. followed recipe except we used dried cranberries instead of the raisins. LOVED IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Seabrook, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2001
Very tasty we used it with a pork roast. We packed the stuffing around the outside of the roast to keep it moist. It was awesome !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Oyster Dressing or Stuffing

See how to make the perfect Thanksgiving stuffing for seafood lovers.

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

Corn & Porcini Mushroom Cornbread Dressing

See the accidentally best cornbread dressing ever.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States