Apple and Onion Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
This is always a huge hit at Thanksgiving. I do make two small modifications: (1) use dried cranberries instead of raisins and (2) add a little Apple juice or cider for moisture. This complements the Granny Smiths and also keeps the dish suitable for a vegetarian in the family
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
I've making this recipe for years - its now a family tradition. For the folks whose dressing was too dry or bland, sounds to me like you got the recipe wrong some how - too much bread or not enough butter. I adjust based on what type of bread I have hanging around for the crumbs - some soaks up the butter more than others. I also sometimes add sage. My kids come home for this dressing and if I ever made something different they wouldn't be happy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Claire Milton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
A+ my whole family loved this and I plan on making it everytime. My son who is a picky picky picky eater who wont even try anything that touches not only tried it , he ate the whole thing before he ate anything else. I had to do a double take.WOW!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
This was a great recipe, with a little modification. I used store bought bread cubes in a bag (w/a light onion seasoning). I prepared the night before and refrigerated until I was ready to cook it. Before baking I added LOW SODIUM chicken broth and some of the broth from my Turkey and baked when the turkey only had about an hour left. I made a large recipe and it turned out wonderfully. It was a big hit at the dinner table!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2007
I have made this dressing 2 years in a row at Thanksgiving time. Every time I've made it it's been a big hit. The only thing different I do is use craisins instead of raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2006
This was my first attempt at home made dressing & everyone loved it! I saved some out of the Turkey to serve as a side dressing & my vegeterian friends have asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Snohomish, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2005
I really enjoyed this dish and others who shared this with me over Thanksgiving raved about it! At someone's suggestion, I added a little chicken stock so it was perfectly moist. Tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
It's a five star when you add mushrooms. I have been using this recipe for years. It's right out of Joy of Cooking, but Joy of Cooking didn't have mushrooms in the recipe. Cut the bread into crouton size squares, and don't skimp on celery or onion. I usually have to make a lot more and add 1/3 more ingredients. The raisins make this recipe taste as if I used wine, at least that's what my dinner guests tell me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2005
n it was too dry and bland. no one liked it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2004
This was the best stuffing I have ever made. It was just perfect. There were no left-overs. Try it! You won't be sorry. Yummy. Cindy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

Oyster Dressing or Stuffing

See how to make the perfect Thanksgiving stuffing for seafood lovers.

Corn & Porcini Mushroom Cornbread Dressing

See the accidentally best cornbread dressing ever.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States