Apple and Feta Pan Fried Pizzas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Lillian
Reviewed: May 8, 2013
I loved this! All the flavors work so well together...from the sharpness of the red onions to the salty feta with the sweet apples and herby thyme ontop of the hearty fried dough! I made it as written except I added 1 tsp. of sugar to apples as I sauteed them. And I used store bought pizza dough. Frying the dough is a must because it gives a totally different flavor to the dough. This is a nice light lunch or snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitestone, New York, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
I didn't do the pan-frying the dough part - just used frozen pizza dough and topped it as directed in the recipe. Delicious - great flavor combinations!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
These were good. Served at a girls night. I ended up making them with pears instead of apples. I also made a basalmic vinegar reduction and drizzled it over the finished pizzas. Added a little acidity which was nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yukon, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
I thought these were quite nice. I only gave it a 4 as written though because they are absolutely AMAZING with pear instead of apple. I tried both, and my tasters and I all agreed that the apple version pales in comparison. Good as written, but do try it with pear also. I used a red pear, don't know what variety that is, and a golden delicious apple. Also, I really don't think you need that much cheese and onion. I used half of what the recipe calls for, and had just the right amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
Pretty good. The taste improved with a tiny bit of barbeque sauce on a couple of them. Next time I'll add more apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2006
This was so easy and absolutely delicious! The fresh thyme sprigs made all the difference. Don't sub the thyme. My guests loved it too and thought it was absolutely gourmet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LynnInHK
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2005
I made the pizza dough myself and they puffed up nicely when pan fried in olive oil, and had the wonderful aroma of gyros. But it's not very flavorful, and the feta-onion combo is a little on the dry side. Maybe next time I'll use half ricotta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynnInHK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centreville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Hong Kong, Hong Kong Island, Hong Kong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2005
Great flavor combo! I made the dough from scratch (bread machine) and pan fried it. Frying it does make a difference in the texture. Also, I didn't use nearly as much goat cheese as in the recipe. I just eyed the amount when I sprinkled it on top. I bet this would be good on top of a pita if you're short on time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2004
Very good ideas, I made a few modifications. We used a Boboli crust with a barbeque sauce base. I fried up 4 slices of bacon and then sauteed onions, apples, 1 Tbs brown sugar and thyme in same pan. Has become a favorite in our home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Living In: Boulder, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2004
this recipe was simple, and delicious, and my family loved it. i never would've thought about trying a combonation like that, but it's a wonderful dish. i would definitly reccomend it to anyone with a big family. however, i doubled it, because the dough wasn't enough to make even four pizzas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fast English Muffin Pizzas

Individual pizzas made on English muffins with sauce, cheese and pepperoni.

Apple & Cheddar Cheese Soufflés

A feather-light soufflé with caramelized apples and sharp Cheddar.

Easy Apple Crisp

Apple crisp made with white cake mix, sugar, cinnamon and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States