Apple and Brown Sugar Corned Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
MY dad of all people started making this and it wasn't MY traditional way. I gave him "the eye" while watching him throw apple juice and mustard of all things into it. I must admit..."the eye" felt stupid as I was eating the most delicious corn beef dinner EVER! The cabbage was almost like a dessert. I couldn't stop eating. Don't mess with this recipe other than maybe trying it out in a pressure cooker. But doubt it even needs that! Ambra-Akron
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
I make this recipe but I rinse my corned beef and then soak it over night in a sealed marinating dish in cold water to take out some of the sodium and then rinse it again before making it my family loves it and this is our favorite recipe to use. I also don't swell up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
My 2 year old ate more of this corned beef than I did. The apple juice/mustard/brown sugar combo gave the beef a wonderfully sweet/tangy flavor. I wouldn't change a thing about this recipe. Happy St. Patty's Day everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corinne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Concord, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
I usually don't try recipes with only 3 reviews, and I was leery when I read the ingredients, but it was awesome!! I would give it more stars if I could. I cooked it on the stove and I only had 1 - 3lb corned beef brisket, so I halved the vegetables but kept the liquid, brown sugar and mustard measurements the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Round Lake Beach, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
Maybe it's just me but I don't like my dinner to taste like dessert. The corned beef was fine but I could have achieve the same results with a more basic, conventional treatment. The carrots were candied - which is OK. And the potatoes were fine - probably too dense to take on the flavors. But the cabbage was ruined. It tasted waaaay too sweet and had none of that good cabbage taste. Maybe that's a positive for those who don't like cabbage. So next time I'll go a different route and be a bit more traditional: make the New England Corned Beef dinner I remember from my childhood. (I missed the yummy, mouth-watering smell from cooking it stove-top too. Instead I got a too sweet smell in my kitchen that lingered for hours.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
Very good! The corned beef was so tender. (I cooked it on low for about 8 hrs.) The only trouble I had was trying to fit everything into my slow cooker, which is a large, oblong cooker. I had to put several potatoes, part of an onion and half of the cabbage in a pan on the stove. I used a little water and some of the juices from the slow cooker, which almost reached the top rim of the cooker by then. I simmered the extras on low for the last hour or so. I'm actually glad I had to cook most of the cabbage on the stove because the cabbage that was in the slow cooker cooked down to practically nothing. The carrots were the biggest surprise! They were so incredibly sweet, I was wishing I'd added more! Everyone enjoyed the meal very much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
Amazing. Simply amazing. I have never liked this before and loved it. My husband, who is Jewish, is a corned beef connoisseur and said it was the best he's ever had. Kept the juice and spices the same but did just one three pound corned beef and only used 7 potatoes, one onion and a half a head of cabbage. Thank you for this! ! ! !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rumson, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Stillwater, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
This was by far the best corned beef I ever tasted. Only change I made was to add 1 cup of beer to make sure everything was completely covered. Outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooknbabe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ellwood City, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by VALISME
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
Mmmmmmmmmmmm!! Not a big fan of "traditional" corned beef and cabbage, so this was an interesting idea to try. I halved the recipe, changed apple cider for juice, added three cut apples, left out the onions and used the regular potatoes I had on hand vs. red. Reading other reviews, I decided to wait 'til the last hr. to add the chopped cabbage, so it still had good taste/texture. The sweet/salty flavor mix was wonderful, and this is how we're eating corned beef and cabbage from now on!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Springfield, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2011
First off, I made this recipe EXACTLY as stated, and it is great! I didn't find it too sweet, it was actually a fun take on corned beef and cabbage. The family loved it and I will definitely make this over and over again! Some horseradish mustard on the side is great to give a sweet and spicy kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jmarie617

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sterling, Virginia, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Corned Beef and Cabbage

Simple, no-fuss corned beef and cabbage simmers slowly all day.

Slow Cooker Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make perfect corned beef.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States