Apple and Brown Sugar Corned Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
This review is for the meat only portion of this recipe. We really enjoyed the taste of this meat with the 3 ingredient broth. The apple juice gave the corned beef a wonderful flavor. The meat was very moist and sliced nicely. If I am pressed for time and cannot make the oven braised version of corned beef, I will definitely use this crockpot method. Looking forward to Reuben sandwiches with the leftovers. Served this with 'Alla Checca' and 'Tomato Bruschetta' both AR recipes. Thanks tonmeilleurami, for sharing your recipe. It is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
It was delicious!!! I adjusted the recipe a little; instead of 4 cups apple juice I used 2 cups Apple Juice AND 2 cups Orange Juice. I added 1 Bulb Fresh Crushed Garlic And used Horseradish Mustard instead of prepared mustard. Cooked the red potatoes whole (not cut). Everything was cooked perfectly. BEST CORNED BEEF I EVER HAD!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ddnotop
Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
The kids were begging me to cook anything but corned beef. One girl had seconds and one had thirds! I will never go back to water, moist and delicious. Used baby gold potatoes with the baby red for some contrast. They ate all of the potatoes too. I think this will be a regular menu item at my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
We LOVED this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
Liked the basic recipe and then found it easy to adapt. I sometimes switch a bottle of medium dry cider for the apple juice which works really well if some of your guests do not like their meals as sweet as the standard recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2013
Fantastic! After reading a few of the reviews about the sweetness, I decided to use a cider instead. This time I used Woodchuck 802 which was amazing. I halved the recipe for 1 3 lb. corned beef brisket, so I used just one bottle. Very, very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
Yummy & easy! Do not believe that the ingredients make this dish too sweet. I am proud of this Mom for creating & posting this receipe. My family loved it & we do not normally eat corned beef. Thank you so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
just made it tonight it was very good, my husban and I enjoyed it we didn't think it was to sweet but it did have a slight sweetness to it witch was great served with french bread (witch I made my into a sub)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
Very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
I've always gone to this recipe for corned beef. I've only ever made it in the crock pot though, and there wasn't any room for the vegetables and the meat wouldn't be completely covered. Now, I've tried this in a stock pot on the stove (40 min per lb) and doubled the broth ingredients. This was the best it ever came out, absolutely delicious and moist. I will never go back to the crock pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Bloomfield, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Corned Beef and Cabbage

Simple, no-fuss corned beef and cabbage simmers slowly all day.

Slow Cooker Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make perfect corned beef.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States