Apple and Brown Rice Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
I really enjoyed this salad. My 4 year old and 1 year old also enjoyed it too. I chopped most of the ingredients pretty small to make it easier for my baby to eat, but other than that, followed the directions exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinCarrie
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
Really good, fresh, healthy taste...better without celery. also used only yogurt (plain greek with agave to sweeten) and no mayo. with these changes, 5 stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Pinon Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
This was a great, festive side dish for Christmas dinner. I would have liked a stronger orange flavor and will probably add some orange zest next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
I had the ingredients but not exactly the right amounts, but threw it together anyway and it was yummy! I added an extra chopped-up pear and used chopped almonds. Mmm; great salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
had a good taste but wasn't something we really liked
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunflowersnmore

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salem, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
This sounded good, but I did not care for the finished product. Should NOT have used the mayo. Ick. Should have just used more yogurt instead of the mayo. And the texture of the brown rice was kind of odd. If you've never been a fan of tapioca or rice puddings, don't try this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
This was ok. It had a nice flavor, but there was just something a little weird about it. Maybe I didn't like eating cold rice. It also makes a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Parie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sandy, Utah, USA
Living In: Columbus, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
Interesting dish. Probably should get kicked for posting a review and not following original recipe exactly, but didn't have any orange yogurt lying around. Used zest and juice of an orange and that worked pretty good with the low fat mayo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOAN
Reviewed: May 4, 2010
DELICIOUS! Absolutely loved this salad. I didn't have orange yogurt but had vanilla so I used 2 Activia vanilla yogurts and put in 1/2 tsp of orange flavoring in the yogurt instead, with NO mayo. It was really nice and very healthy. I used only a cup of brown rice as I wanted to enjoy more of the fruit. We ate only this with some new "Fiber" Wheat Thins for a light dinner. The flavors were so complimentary and good for you. I wanted to take some to work tomorrow for lunch and see how the flavors blended together the next day but my husband finished it up. I think he liked it :-) I told him to go ahead and finish it as it was so easy to make and I will make another batch in the next couple days. I also always have brown rice cooked and in the freezer in 1-2 cup bags so that is convenient. I always keep bags of cooked grains to use for different things like this so it is a breeze to make. ENJOY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
I have a difficult time getting my family to eat healthy and/or low-cal dishes (especially whole grains), but they absolutely love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States