Apple and BBQ Sauce Baby Back Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 30, 2006
This recipe is definitely a keeper. I made it for the first time last night and everyone loved it - two racks of ribs are GONE. Grilling them in the foil packets covered with sauce made for ribs so tender the meat was falling off the bones. The BBQ sauce and applesauce combination gave just the right sweet/spicy taste. These are definitely going to become a staple in my menu planning. ETA: The last time I made these ribs I used a disposable foil pan rather than wrapping them in sheets of foil. Believe me, it didn't affect the taste at all, but was much, much easier to handle on the grill. I just prepared the ribs as directed using the foil pan, which I then covered with foil. Made cleanup a breeze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Sanford, Florida, USA
Living In: South Bend, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2006
First I wanna say that this was the first time I ever cooked ribs. I know how to cook dogs and hamburger on the grill but never ribs. I followed the instructions and by far the best ribs I ever tasted. My wife said that I set the bar for her taste buds. My brother and mother told me that I might have them beat (they are experienced grillers). I used spared ribs instead of baby back which I will try next time. Watching my friends and family licking the bone clean was well worth the time and effort. Thanks for the recipe:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
This was absolutely delicious!! I did a couple things differently but otherwise the recipe was very close to the original. I added liquid smoke and I cooked them in the oven for 3.5 hours at 300 degrees. This was from the frig to the oven. Very very tender, and was a big hit with all. I have a smoker and smoke my ribs very often, while these are not at that quality, with the added liquid smoke, it comes close.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oceana, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2008
The ribs turned out great. after cooking them on the grill for 1 hour it looked like the ribs where done, i made the exactly to the tee and the only sucestion is that instead after removing the ribs from the foil do not let them sit on the grill fr 30 mins. way too long; next time i will cut the time to 5 mins per side. the sauce in this turned out great and just be careful when you ad the pepper because it ads a kick. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2005
This was wonderful! I just happen to keep applesauce on hand; the ribs were moist and delightful, and my mother-in-law loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Carrot River, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
I marinaded over night and ended up baking in the oven. I baked them for 3 hours total = 1 1/2 hours at 250* and then turned heat up to 300* and baked another 1 1/2 hours. I baked them in a foil pouch in a pan. The last 10 minutes I added extra bbq sauce and then broiled for 5-10 minutes to crisp them up. They were fall off the bone delish!!! Even my boyfriend who 'doesn't like meat on bones' loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
Mt family really liked these. As some other reviewers did, I baked them for 2 hours at 350 and then just finished them off on the barbecuse because I was afraid they would burn if I followed the grilling directions. I also found the half the sauce was more than enough for the full amount of ribs. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
Oh what tender ribs these are! The foil does wonders! After one hour I took the foil off and flip the ribs on the opposite side for about 7mins and they were done. Becareful not to cook too long, they will become tuff! But a great recipe and detailed instructions. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
A great marinade/sauce. I only marinated the ribs for 2 hours though, due to bad planning. I also cooked them in the oven instead (wrapped in the foil and on a shallow pan to catch the juices) for 4 hours @ 300 degrees. They were so tender and juicy that they fell right off the bone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
Giving this a mediocre review, but the issue could have been me or the recipe. Cooking over "high" heat to me is too vague. My grill goes to 1200 if I let it...is that high? I kept it at 400 and the bottom of the foil was rock hard burned and stuck to the ribs. Do you keep the cover down? That affects the temp so would have been good to know. That being said, the sauce was good, though I would do 3:1 Q sauce to apple. I think this works better if you marinate overnight then either smoke or cook on indirect grill heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Baked BBQ Baby Back Ribs

See how easy it is to make 5-star ribs in the oven.

Prize Winning Baby Back Ribs

Spice-rubbed ribs get the slow-cooking treatment over indirect heat.

Scott's Amazing Whiskey Grilled Baby Back Ribs

Discover the secret to impossibly tender, fall-off-the-bone BBQ ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States