Apple Yogurt Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2002
This was the best pancake recipe I have made. The pancakes freeze well. I will make these often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SKOONUS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2001
A nice change from "syrup flavored flour"! Very light and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2003
This is a delicious and easy recipe! We are always watching those calories, so I am an avid modifier. I give this 5 stars after these modifications: substitute 2/3 of the oil with apple sauce, use 1/4 cup eggbeaters for every egg, use low or no-fat yogurt, use skim milk. This brings the fat% to less than 15% without hurting the flavor. Using whole wheat instead of all purpose flour will increase the fiber 3-fold and adds a robust flavor. I grind my own which means that it is fresh & chocked full of extra flavor & nutrients, too. Whole wheat has fewer calories and more protein, too. Addressing the comments of others, we thought the cinnamon was not overpowering -- in fact I might add more next time. It only took minutes to prepare, just the time to quickly peel an apple which is a breeze with the good peeler Santa brought me. And as far as knowing when to turn the pancakes, give them a little shove with the spatula -- if they easily move around, you can safely turn them. If they seem to be cooking too fast, turn the heat down a little. I found that medium high, but more towards medium than high was the best setting for me after making all of these changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2003
Man did we love these pancakes!!! All I had on hand was peach yogurt so I threw that in instead and it worked out great! I used a little more apple than was called for and every bite was a piece of heaven. Our leftovers (what little we had left) were rather moist the next day so we popped them in the oven and crisped them up. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2003
These were easy to make and delicious. Leftovers froze well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2004
Oh my goodness! These are so good! I substituted 1 cup of flour for oats for extra fiber and added the remaining amount of flour. I used applesauce instead of oil, and I added about a half teaspon of apple pie spice. I used light plain yogurt. And instead of chopping my apple, I grated it. I also added artificial sweetner to the batter. If you choose to use sugar, try with about 1 tablespoon at first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2005
Very good recipe. The addition of yogurt makes the pancake light and fluffy despite having pieces of apple in it. Leftover batter makes great pancakes the next day too! My children did not like the bits of apple in their pancakes and preferred their pancakes plain. I, however, loved my pancakes with a lot of apple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2006
I love these! The yogurt gives them a nice unexpected flavor. If you're looking for a super sweet store bought commercial mix type pancake this isn't for you. These are REAL pancakes made from scratch that are light and airy with a tiny bit of tang that plays nicely off of the cinnammon flavor. The smaller you dice the apple the better it cooks and adds a nice touch to the texture. Will be making these again and again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
Great recipe!!! The cakes were a beautiful color, texture was fluffy yet substantial and the taste was nice... not too sweet. I used vanilla yogurt instead of plain and a dash of vanilla. The finished cakes were enjoyed with a bit of butter and a sprinkle of cinnamon sugar. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A. Chinn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
WOW! Everyone in my family loved these pancakes. Even my picky 3 year old ate 3 of them. I did change the recipe a little, though. I was worried about apple chunks in the pancakes after reading some reviews, so after peeling the apples, I cut them into chunks and cooked them in a little water and brown sugar. They were softer and easier to make into smaller pieces after that, and the brown sugar added a little sweetness to the pancake. Because I cooked the apples in a small amount of water, I cut the milk in the recipe also. I will DEFINITLY be making these pancakes often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pnutmommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Three Rivers, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Easy Pancakes

See how to make quick-and-easy pancakes from scratch.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States