Apple Yogurt Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
These made a tasty pancake and not any more difficult than your traditional recipe. The yogurt definitely helped them stay nice and moist, and they were really filling. My girlfriend says they're the best pancakes I've made yet (and I make a lot of pancakes!). I did make a few changes to the recipe though, since I wanted a sweeter pancake than it called for. I substituted the vegetable oil for unsweetened apple sauce, added a 1/2 tsp each of nutmeg and cloves, and also added about 2 or 3 tbsp of white sugar. Next time I would definitely use a fairly "light" plain yogurt (I used Balkan-Style) and sift my flour too, since they were a little heavy otherwise! So overall a great recipe, once tweaked a little bit. Glad I stumbled on it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saugeen Shores, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Arica
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
This recipe is great! I did make some substitutions--oats for half of the flour amount and fresh strawberries instead of apple. I also added more cinnamon and a pinch of sumac. They were soooo delicious! Q and I loved them and he doesn't normally have a sweet tooth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
Yum. I also made an apple syrup to put over them and boy was it heaven. I got bubbles and everything so i knew right when to flip them. Quick and easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
Ehh, OK. Heavy, odd texture, and not a whole lot of flavor. I'll add some brown sugar as other reviewers have suggested and try it again, but don't have high hopes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
SO delicious. I subbed applesauce for about half the oil and used while whole wheat flour but otherwise made these as written. My fam gobbled them up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
In the hurry to make the pancakes, I shredded the apples (3 small ones) and turned out delicious anyways! thanks for this one. I added a tbls of sugar as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
Excellent alternative to plain pancakes! I added 2 tablespoons of Splenda, 1/2 cup walnuts, and doubled the cinnamon and apple quantities which made them slightly sweet. The same basic recipe would work with other fruits such as bananas or berries, so variations are endless. Very very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
Pancakes are quite dense and filling. I found them perhaps a bit thick...I might try adding a bit more milk next time. I used homemade yogurt. I also used about 3/4 cup whole wheat flour and the rest all purpose. I used about 1 1/2 apples, and I think it would be fine to use 2 whole ones. These were a nice switch from our normal recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zonya Gingrich

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Iris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
I have been making these pancakes for a couple years now. They are so much healthier than normal pancakes (especially if you use applesauce in place of oil) and they don't get boring after the first 3 bites either. They don't sit so heavy in the tummy and have a great taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Easy Pancakes

See how to make quick-and-easy pancakes from scratch.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States