Apple Yam Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2005
Great alternative to the traditional yams and marshmallow recipe. I have a few suggestions though. First, take the other reviewers advice and boil the sweet potatoes first since the apples do finish much quicker. The sweet potatoes did take extra time to cook, longer than the stated time. Second, double up on the brown sugar and flour mixture. The casserole will be much sweeter and taste much better. Third, add more apples to the mixture. Otherwise, you hardly taste them. Furthermore, this is a great recipe and with the changes, I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Visalia, California, USA
Living In: Enid, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2002
DEFINITELY COOK THE SWEET POTATO **FIRST** BEFORE PLACING IT IN OVEN WITH APPLES. No matter how small you chop the potatoes, it ends up taking 3-4 times the amount of time specified without them being cooked beforehand. I also agree with a couple of reviewers who mentioned that the recipe for the sauce was too little. It may work well to make extra and add a little at a time. Otherwise, this tasted DELICIOUS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Mar Vista, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2005
Made this last Thanksgiving and just had a call requesting it again this year! I found the sweet potatoes and apples I purchased were HUGE! - so I doubled the rest of the recipee and used 2 casserole dishes. Before placing in oven I microwaved each dish 5 minutes then repeated another 5 minutes(alternating dishes). This helped with the complaint I read a few reviewers had with the potatoes not cooking through - and I only needed to cook them in the oven for 20 minutes total after that. It was a HIT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2006
Before I found this recipe, several reviewers had already mentioned pre-cooking the sweet potatoes and increasing the sauce so that's what I did the first time I made it. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nome, Alaska, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2004
Great recipe!!! It has been a hit with my entire family and I've been making every Thanksgiving and Easter now for about 2 years. Thanks Genny and AllRecipes.com. The only change I've made to the recipe is that I slightly boil the cubed yams in water with cinnamon sticks first then layer it with the apples because I found that the apples cook much faster than the yams if the yams are not pre-cooked. I also added slivered almonds on top...yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Danville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2002
Made this for big family Thanksgiving dinner. It was a big hit. Followed the advice to cook the yams first. This is a must! A little on the sweet side for my personal taste. I ended up making it again the following day because there was none left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GPWILCOX
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2002
My family and I loved this recipe. I found that the sweet potatoes needed extra time in the oven. Next time I'll cook them first, then add the apples and sauce. For a sweeter dish the sauce could easily be doubled. My wife who doesn't like sweetened vegetables even raved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GPWILCOX

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2001
I looooved this casserole - and so did the rest of my family! The recipe was requested several times! I cooked the sweet potatoes first in the microwave, then put them in the casserole with the apples, this way it baked in 20 minutes total. Such a wonderful alternative to the typical marshmallow or nut topping casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2002
This was a big hit with my family. I definantly prefer it over the traditional marshmellow versions. I did take some advise here and microwaved the sweet potatoes before using and increased the glaze to 1 1/2 as much as the recipe.I also used dried cranberries instead of raisins. I soaked them in water for about 20 minutes before using. Turned out great and was done in the recommended cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2001
Took quite a bit longer to bake than recipe indicated, but it's likely the yams I chose were larger than the recipe intended. For that same reason, I ended up increasing the brown sugar/water/butter mixture part way through baking because it just looked to dry. Regardless, it was very easy and got big raves at Christmas dinner. A nice, less sweet alternative to the traditional "sweet" sweet potato recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Yummy Yam Casserole

This casserole is creamy and crunchy, and not too sweet.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States