Apple Yam Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2001
This was my first attempt at cooking yams, therefore I searched the internet for a suitable recipe. This one caught my eye. The casserole was amazingly easy to make and with the helpful hints of previous reviews they were delicious. My boyfriend was skeptical at first, but he really enjoyed them. I will definitely make this dish again!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NIL2PRAY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belleville, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2001
I looooved this casserole - and so did the rest of my family! The recipe was requested several times! I cooked the sweet potatoes first in the microwave, then put them in the casserole with the apples, this way it baked in 20 minutes total. Such a wonderful alternative to the typical marshmallow or nut topping casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2001
This is probably the best yam recipie I have ever had! The apples add just the right flavor. It's not overly sweet but has just enough to keep my mouth watering for more. This will become a family holiday recipie for us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2001
It's undoubtedly my own fault this didn't turn out quite right for me. I sliced the sweet potatoes in about 1/4" rounds instead of dicing. The result is that it wasn't done when it should have been and took at least another 25 minutes to cook. However, the finished dish was fantastic in flavor and appearance. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eureka, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2001
Didn't turn out very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2001
What an awesome combination. Tastes fantastic. Made this for a recent dinner party, and a guest who said "yuck, sweet potatoes" ended up having second helpings! I did have to bake for closer to an hour, but to cut down on time this can easily be prepared in the microwave. Just toss raisins, apple and yam slices with the flour and cinammon, mix water and brown sugar and pour over, and cook on high covered for 8-10 minutes or until tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2001
Super Dish! The combinations of taste and texture were very good. An easy dish to create and a superb compliment to roast beef, pork or poultry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2001
This was a great new dish to add to thankgiving dinner. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2001
...although I didn't experience making it. I Introduced a friend to this website and he invited me over to try it. Mmmm good, and I really don't eat sweet potato's. It is a mix between a meal and dessert with the apples and cinnamon:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOONLIGHT369

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2001
This was great. Made it for Christmas and the family was impressed. Great break from our usual mashed sweet potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Yummy Yam Casserole

This casserole is creamy and crunchy, and not too sweet.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States