Apple Yam Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2002
I made this for Thanksgivine and it was delicious. I did cook the sweet potatoes before putting them into the casserole. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2002
Made this for big family Thanksgiving dinner. It was a big hit. Followed the advice to cook the yams first. This is a must! A little on the sweet side for my personal taste. I ended up making it again the following day because there was none left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2002
all i have to say is that this was awful,it smelled really good but it wasnt.we threw it all out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2002
this was an excellent recipe with one minor problem recipe calls for 1/2 cup water (8Tbs) of which 1/3 cup (5.3Tbs) are added with sugar leaving aproximately 3 Tbs for for combining with 3 Tbs flour to thicken = dosen't work. Needs a 1 to 2 proportion (example if you use 3Tbs flour need 6 Tbs water) other wise lumps result and cannot be sieved out. A winner at Thanksgiving this year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2002
This was a big hit with my family. I definantly prefer it over the traditional marshmellow versions. I did take some advise here and microwaved the sweet potatoes before using and increased the glaze to 1 1/2 as much as the recipe.I also used dried cranberries instead of raisins. I soaked them in water for about 20 minutes before using. Turned out great and was done in the recommended cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2002
I tried this recipe for my family last Thanksgiving Day. It was such a hit that it will be on our menu for the holidays from now on! Very moist and delicious. More like a dessert than a vegetable dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GPWILCOX
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2002
My family and I loved this recipe. I found that the sweet potatoes needed extra time in the oven. Next time I'll cook them first, then add the apples and sauce. For a sweeter dish the sauce could easily be doubled. My wife who doesn't like sweetened vegetables even raved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GPWILCOX

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2002
this recipe was so easy to make. I substituted dried cranberries for rasions. It came out with a funny platsic-y taste thought-If I made it again I'd be sure ti rinse the dried friut REally well! not likely to go on my thanksgiving table again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2002
at least now my grandchildren will try yams the adults really like this recipe thankyou
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2002
DEFINITELY COOK THE SWEET POTATO **FIRST** BEFORE PLACING IT IN OVEN WITH APPLES. No matter how small you chop the potatoes, it ends up taking 3-4 times the amount of time specified without them being cooked beforehand. I also agree with a couple of reviewers who mentioned that the recipe for the sauce was too little. It may work well to make extra and add a little at a time. Otherwise, this tasted DELICIOUS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Mar Vista, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Yummy Yam Casserole

This casserole is creamy and crunchy, and not too sweet.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States