Apple Yam Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2003
Yummmmy!!! would go excellently with pork dishes. We tried a different apple, smaller, but it was so yummmy no matter what!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Falls Church, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2002
I made this for Thanksgivine and it was delicious. I did cook the sweet potatoes before putting them into the casserole. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2002
Made this for big family Thanksgiving dinner. It was a big hit. Followed the advice to cook the yams first. This is a must! A little on the sweet side for my personal taste. I ended up making it again the following day because there was none left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2002
all i have to say is that this was awful,it smelled really good but it wasnt.we threw it all out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2002
this was an excellent recipe with one minor problem recipe calls for 1/2 cup water (8Tbs) of which 1/3 cup (5.3Tbs) are added with sugar leaving aproximately 3 Tbs for for combining with 3 Tbs flour to thicken = dosen't work. Needs a 1 to 2 proportion (example if you use 3Tbs flour need 6 Tbs water) other wise lumps result and cannot be sieved out. A winner at Thanksgiving this year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2002
This was a big hit with my family. I definantly prefer it over the traditional marshmellow versions. I did take some advise here and microwaved the sweet potatoes before using and increased the glaze to 1 1/2 as much as the recipe.I also used dried cranberries instead of raisins. I soaked them in water for about 20 minutes before using. Turned out great and was done in the recommended cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2002
I tried this recipe for my family last Thanksgiving Day. It was such a hit that it will be on our menu for the holidays from now on! Very moist and delicious. More like a dessert than a vegetable dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GPWILCOX
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2002
My family and I loved this recipe. I found that the sweet potatoes needed extra time in the oven. Next time I'll cook them first, then add the apples and sauce. For a sweeter dish the sauce could easily be doubled. My wife who doesn't like sweetened vegetables even raved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GPWILCOX

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2002
this recipe was so easy to make. I substituted dried cranberries for rasions. It came out with a funny platsic-y taste thought-If I made it again I'd be sure ti rinse the dried friut REally well! not likely to go on my thanksgiving table again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2002
at least now my grandchildren will try yams the adults really like this recipe thankyou
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Yummy Yam Casserole

This casserole is creamy and crunchy, and not too sweet.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States