Apple Yam Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2004
This recipe was a total bomb at my Thanksgiving! It needs more of the sauce, otherwise it tastes like apples and potatoes in a pan. It sounds much better on paper. Very boring and uneventful when made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2004
One major flaw for this recipe is the cook time. I and two of my co-workers tried this recipe for Thanksgiving and were very displeased that it took THREE TIMES THE AMOUNT THAT IT SAYS! I stuck this dish in with my Turkey, and it didn't finish until the Turkey was done, almost 3 hours later. 3 Hours! Really! I'd suggest to anyone using this recipe to use a heck of a lot more butter for the moisture, and cook it covered for more like 1 1/2 hours at 375.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2004
Definately need to try boiling the sweet potatoes. I added a little extra sauce and raisins. I will make this again. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2004
I am not all that fond of sweet potatoes, but this was really good. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2004
Great recipe!!! It has been a hit with my entire family and I've been making every Thanksgiving and Easter now for about 2 years. Thanks Genny and AllRecipes.com. The only change I've made to the recipe is that I slightly boil the cubed yams in water with cinnamon sticks first then layer it with the apples because I found that the apples cook much faster than the yams if the yams are not pre-cooked. I also added slivered almonds on top...yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Danville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2004
Very tasty side dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2003
As an alternative to making candy yams for thanksgiving, I made this dish. It was delicious. I followed the advice of another reviewer and made a second batch of sauce. The next time that I make this dish, i will probably omit the raisins from the second batch. As i have just learned, that my family is not that crazy about raisins but i couldn't tell as they gobbled it all up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2003
I tried this recipe for this year's Thanksgiving and got a big thumbs up from the whole family. Definitely a repeat performance dish. And... it's pretty! The prep time was vastly longer than the recipe indicates (and I even scheduled extra time since this was my first attempt), and next time I use this recipe, I am going to pre-cook the sweet potatoes before I peel and cube. It took a whole lot of time to bake -- the until tender part -- about an hour and 20 minutes! Additionally, depending on the size of the apple -- you may only need one apple for the casserole if the apple is large.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2003
Average...not bad...not so terrific
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2003
I made this recipe last Thanksgiving when I got stuck making yams. The recipe was a hit!! I have never had yams but had to try it since I made it. Everyone including me loved them!! Adults and kids. I made it exactly as written with no problems. People even asked where I got the recipe. Very easy recipe and tasted delicious. I will definately be making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Yummy Yam Casserole

This casserole is creamy and crunchy, and not too sweet.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States