Apple Yam Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
Delicious. I served it for Thanksgiving and it was requested again for Christmas. First time I cut the potatoes fairly thin and partially steamed. Next time I cut in chunks and par boiled. Prefer the latter. I also added dried cherries instead of raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
As other reviewers suggested I cooked my sweet potatoes first. This was a huge hit on Thanksgiving! The tangy apples compliment the nutty sweet potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Binghamton, New York, USA
Living In: Decatur, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
I've made this recipe for three holiday seasons running. It is FABULOUS! I use golden raisins just because they are fatter, sweeter and much prettier in this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs H

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mentor, Ohio, USA
Living In: Willoughby, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
My family requests this dish every time we get together for the holidays. I like to double the brown sugar sauce that is poured over the dish. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LianaW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2007
Well I should have read the reviews. I think you could avoid boiling potatoes if you: use three apples and two potatoes; chop it all fairly finely; add extra water (maybe 3/4 or 1 full cup); and leave the lid on the WHOLE time, so you get steam action going. The potatoes on the top weren't soft enough, but the bottom was good, sweet and generally yummy. After a night in the fridge it all tasted better, though, and more bits had softened. Since it does taste good cold, it could be a good make-the-night-before dish and then the hardness wouldn't be much of an issue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alarose

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
This is very yummy. I sliced the potatoes like chips and cooked them in the microwave to make them soft first. YOU HAVE TO DO THIS! I have made this before w/out doing this step first and it is never ever done in less than 1 hour because of the sweet potatoes taking forever to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2006
Before I found this recipe, several reviewers had already mentioned pre-cooking the sweet potatoes and increasing the sauce so that's what I did the first time I made it. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nome, Alaska, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2006
A 2004 and 2005 Thanksgiving potluck hit with requests for recipes. Definitely boil sweet potatoes and double the sauce recipe. I used Golden Raisins this year, but did not double the amount, just because many people don't like raisins. I'm interested in trying the craisins next time. I used a fruit preservative to help keep the apples from browing as they are sliced and increased the amount of apple to almost 3 apples. Also followed the recommendation to use 1 part flour, 2 parts water for the sauce thickener. Thanks for the great recipe and suggestions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2005
This was good but I thought it tasted more like a dessert than a side dish. It reminded me of apple crisp. I made this at Christmas so to avoid having to put it in the oven with the turkey I cooked it in the microwave. It took about 10 minutes on high power. I also sliced the sweet potatoes instead of cubing them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2005
Really good. You MUST cook the yams first, and it's a good idea to double the sauce. A keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Yummy Yam Casserole

This casserole is creamy and crunchy, and not too sweet.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States