Apple Yam Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
I really like it, it has become one of my favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Fontana, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
A new Holiday Favorite! The whole family loved them. I did make some modifications to the recipe, made it gluten free and I cooked in a slow cooker, not backed. I used and even mix of fresh yams and sweet potatoes (did not cook first). I read multiple reviews and some people suggesting increasing the brown sugar mix, I do not suggest this, it was plenty sweet for us. I used fresh cranberries instead of raisins. Once the water and brown sugar were mixed, I added 3/4 - 1 cup of cranberries to the mix so that they had time to simmer with the mixture. Instead of adding flour, I added cornstarch (use 1/2 the amount suggested for flour). One of the good suggestions from another review was to add the apples later, the potatoes take longer to cook. I left the potatoes and mixture in the cooker for about 2-1/2 hours on high, mixing/folding about ever 45 minutes to make sure all was cooking evenly. then added the apples and lemon. (which by the way, I did not peal the apples. Our apples were small right now, so I added more than suggested). Using the slow cooker was nice because it did not take up additional, very precious, oven space. I hope you and your family enjoy this as much as mine have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
I am actually in the process of cooking it right now, but should have read reviews first. The potatoes are taking way long to cook. Instead of raisins also, I used dried cranberries. I tasted it after the 40min and besides the potatoes still being crunchy it tastes awesome. Next time though I will be cooking the potatoes a little before hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. daNarf

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Auburn, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
I adore this recipe. However, I learned to cook the sweet potatoes/yams and apples first. Then layered and made mix. It's so yummy, it's almost like a dessert. I've had raves and requests for this recipe every time I make it. Have been making it quite a while, but first I dotted with butter, sprinkled with cinnamon and sprinkled brown sugar over each layer, with a bit of flour on top. It comes out pretty much the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buffy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
This is very good, almost like dessert. You definately have to cook the yams before putting the apples in or you will have applesauce. The lemons really top it off!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
We loved this recipe! I did boil the potatoes for 25 minutes before adding to the other ingredients. I would NOT increase the brown sugar in this recipe - everyone felt that it was already sweet enough, possibly a little too sweet. That may be because I used Gala apples but I don't think it made that much of a difference. I loved the lemon flavor. Next time I will use more than 3 slices. Thank you for a recipe that everyone in my family loves!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
Made this for a wrk potluck and everyone loved it! I took advice from other reviewers and doubled the sauce and cooked it a little longer b/c my coworkers can be a bit picky..All i heard was 'mmm'..Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
This was excellent! It tasted like a pie filling! I left the skin on the apples and layered them on the bottom of the baking dish. Then layered canned sliced sweet potatoes on top. Then dumped a bunch of golden raisins on top. Then I made the sauce and poured it on top without mixing it in and baked in that way. I didn't use the lemon slices but instead put a touch of lemon juice into the sauce mix. It was great... better than I thought it would be!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JesusIsTheWay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
it qwas good, i added cayenne for a kick and used olive oil and butter. also add onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHUGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
I made this recipe twice in two weeks after being given a bushel each of sweet potatoes (yellow & white) and apples. I tweaked the recipe with additions of cloves/ginger/nutmeg/Chinese 5 Spice/dried orange peel/and a dash of vanilla. Family & friends couldn't decide if it was better as a side dish or a dessert!! A definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Yummy Yam Casserole

This casserole is creamy and crunchy, and not too sweet.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States