Apple Walnut Salad with Cranberry Vinaigrette Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
I thought this vinaigrette recipe was great! I used it for my Thanksgiving salad of field greens, walnuts, dried cranberries goat cheese and pomegranate seeds. Here's a hint to cut down on that biting "raw" onion flavor. Slice the onion before chopping and place in a strainer over the sink (try to arrange the slices so most are exposed). Pour very hot water (just off a boil) over the onions. The quick blanching will cut down on the raw bitterness and really helps balance the flavors. I also sub agave syrup for the white sugar for better texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
Wow was this good! I read through the reviews before attempting this and I'm glad I did. I used 1/2 cup of red onion and that was definitely enough. I added a little more cranberries and more sugar. I also added a little apple cider vinegar. I like my salad dressing a bit thicker and don't like all the fat, so I used half the amount of oil. I chopped the apple instead of sliced and drizzled the dressing over the greens in individual salad bowls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
Excellent salad and easy to make. Even though it's simple, it's special enough to make for company or a potluck. I eyeballed the ingredients, and I probably used extra craisins and a little less onion. You could do other things with this recipe as a base, as others have noted, like add cinnamon sugar or spice to the walnuts, add cheese, or add extra cranberries on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
I used less onion in the dressing and had to use dried cranberries because I couldn't find fresh. Still fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becca

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2008
Delicious recipe! Be sure to add the dressing gradually to the greens; I had way more dressing that I needed and it would have been overpowering if I used it all at once. The walnuts finish it off beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2008
I made this last night for my Junior Woman's Club and it was gone gone gone! A few changes - I used Craisins because that is what I had on-hand, I added some cranberry juice (concentrate, from trader joe's) and, following the advice of some other reviewers, I chopped the red onions and tossed them with the salad rather than adding them to the vinaigrette. Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2008
OH MY GOODNESS, love it. I renamed it "Michigan Symphony Salad" because the flavors blend like a lovely piece of music! Thanks for this amazing salad, I'll be serving it all summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emilyjane928

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
This was excellent. A refreshing change from regular salad. I can never make dressing turn out, but this one worked very well. I took the advice of others and cut the red onion to less than 1/2 cup. It was still a very strong flavor in the dressing. I also only used 1/2 c. olive oil. Thanks for a great way to change up salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
Great salad! Many positive comments when I brought it to a large group dinner. I definitely cut back on the onion- as many suggested. I also carmelized my walnuts, and used gala apples since I'm not a big red delicious fan. By using a firmer flesh apple, it was able to hold up longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by daveycooks
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
I thought this salad was delicious. I read some reviews that said the dressing was too thick but I completely disagree; even using less oil than the recipe calls for. I did however, blend this with an imulsion blender instead of in the food processor. I have already made this salad again and prefer it with sliced pears instead of apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by daveycooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wayne, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Hawthorne, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jamie’s Cranberry Spinach Salad

Make a healthy spinach salad with a tangy, tasty vinaigrette.

Autumn Apple Salad II

This simple salad is tart, sweet, crisp, and refreshing.

Cranberry Salad II

This salad is bursting with fruit and nuts, and is a great holiday side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States