Apple Walnut Salad with Cranberry Vinaigrette Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
I made this for a ladies event at my church. It is absolutely delicious!!! I made more than enough to go around and an hour later when it was time to eat dessert everyone went for more salad!!!! I didn't change very much. I added extra apples and used 3 different kinds. I candied the walnuts and added gorgonzola cheese to the salad. It is beautiful and I will be making it for Christmas dinner along with almost everyone from my church!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
Great recipe! It's the first time I make a vinaigrette and I was very satisfied with it. I did some modifications though. As others suggested I reduced the amount of onion for the vinaigrette so I used 1/4 cup. I also reduced the oil amount to 3/4 and used canola oil. First I mixed the sugar, onions, balsamic vinegar, and mustard on a bowl. I pureed the cranberries and then added the mixture from the bowl into the food processor and pureed the mix. I then added the oil. It had the perfect consistency for a dressing, not thick at all, but not completely runny either. I also followed chibi chef's suggestion to glaze the walnuts and I was very happy with the flavor they added to the salad. I only used one red delicious apple (chopped in small pieces) instead of two and it added just a sweet flavor to contrast the vinaigrette. Overall a great salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
I added some orange juice to thin out the dressing without adding more fat. It really boosted the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
We had a our Feather Social function this past weekend at our local Elks and I made this salad and everyone LOVED it. I agree with some of the others about cutting back on the onions and adding more sugar. Used white sugar as called for but after tasting decided it needed more sugar. So I added some brown sugar. YUM YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
I followed the suggestions of other reviews. I added more cranberries and sugar to the dressing. I omitted the onion all together. I candied the walnuts and added craisins to the salad. I took it to girls night and everyone loved it. What a great salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
Yum! I love this recipe as written, but I agree with the reviewers that suggest less onion in the dressing and adding onion to the salad. I put some green onionn and blue cheese in my salad this time. I also think this would make a great dinner salad with cold chicken or turkey, cheese and/ or bacon. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
This was really good, but I think the dressing could be a tad sweeter. Next time I'll add more sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
So glad I read the reviews first. I reduced the onion as suggested and I brown the walnuts in the cinnamon/sugar -yum! I will also add grilled chicken or shrimp and make this a meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
When using an onion in any recipe like this, always buy large onions because they are milder. Also, you can soak the cut pieces of onion in water to lessen the strength of the strong taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
My family and I loved this salad. I followed one of the users suggestion of coating the walnuts in a cinnamon/sugar glaze and adding dried cranberries. I omitted the onion from the recipe mainly because I'm just not a fan of onion but I wouldn't be opposed to trying it later just to see the difference. I thought the dressing was fine without. It is a little thick but does the job - once it's tossed it's no big deal! Next time i will also try with feta and also will cut the apples into smaller pieces instead of wedges. This salad is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Jamie’s Cranberry Spinach Salad

Make a healthy spinach salad with a tangy, tasty vinaigrette.

Autumn Apple Salad II

This simple salad is tart, sweet, crisp, and refreshing.

Cranberry Salad II

This salad is bursting with fruit and nuts, and is a great holiday side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States