Apple Walnut Salad with Cranberry Vinaigrette Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
Loved it! Apples are just coming into season so it was a fun way to celebrate the fall season =) The dressing complemented the other flavors very well - I used a white balsamic raspberry-blush vinegar (or something like that...) because I had it. We loved it! I think a little goat cheese would be a great addition for next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
fantastic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dan

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
Different take on the same ingredients. Nice to mix it up and add the cranberries to the dressing! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
Loved this, but I made an alteration and will make another the next time I make this. I did not put the red onion in the dressing as the recipe says, I simply sprinkled it on top of the salad when I was putting it together. I probably only used about a 1/3 of a cup, too. Also, the dressing was a little too thick for our family's liking so I would reduce the sugar (the dressing thickening agent) to 2 tsps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2010
Definitely needs fewer onions than stated in the recipe, but otherwise very good! I used half the oil (olive, not vegetable) and subbed applesauce for the other half. Toasted the walnuts and added some white cheddar and it was fantastic. There was plenty of dressing left over, which I am sure will only get better tomorrow. Next time I'll make the dressing the day before to give the flavors a chance to "settle."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheMrs

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
Good salad for entertaining or bringing to a BBQ. Dressing went well with apples and walnuts. Added cranberries on top and fresh baby spinach. It was a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erikaak

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
Usually not a big fan of nuts and fruits in my salad, but this was great. The dressing was definitely the best part, and I wanted to drink it! Five stars for the dressing alone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lrconner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
I should probably try this again when I run out of cranberry walnut dressing. Bf decided to buy 3 bottles of it (or maybe it was 5? can't remember now--we have three at the moment) so I needed something that would work with the dressing itself from our bottles. This worked really well--I guess a sweet dressing needs a sweet salad. I wasn't that impressed with it before. I like it in this salad, though, so my review is more on the salad itself as opposed to the dressing. Can't say I'll try the dressing soon with all those bottles of dressing running around, but I'll try to remember this and come back to it when I run out of those pesky things. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
Great salad dressing! I did leave out the onion in the dressing but chopped it in the salad as some recommended. I also toasted the walnuts in a small pan and added some real maple syrup to candy them. My husband was lucky they made it to his salad because as I was cooking other things I kept eating the walnuts. : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
I have made this recipe numerous times and I love it. It's wonderful no matter what, but if you follow the directions exactlly the onion can be quite overpowering. I suggest halving the onion and then it's perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jamie’s Cranberry Spinach Salad

Make a healthy spinach salad with a tangy, tasty vinaigrette.

Autumn Apple Salad II

This simple salad is tart, sweet, crisp, and refreshing.

Goat Cheese Apple Walnut Pasta

See how to make a quick and delicious pasta side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States