Apple Walnut Salad with Cranberry Vinaigrette Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Photo by LynnInHK
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2005
Very refreshing taste. I didn't have fresh cranberries so I used dry, and I also followed other member's advice and didn't add the onion to the food processor, and instead tossed it in with the greens. Tasted even better the second day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynnInHK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centreville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Hong Kong, Hong Kong Island, Hong Kong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2005
This salad is wonderful. My whole family loved it and asks me to make it every family gatherings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2005
Wonderful flavor, and the crunch of the nuts and apples really adds something! This was a big hit when I served it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tecumseh, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Arvada, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2005
This salad was WONDERFUL and will definitely make again. My picky dinner guests (parents) loved it as well. The only change I made was to reduce the amount of onion based upon feedback from other reviews. Next time, I will cut up the apples in to smaller pieces (rather than wedges) and I will soak them in a lemon/water bath to keep them from turning brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
121 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Janel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2004
I left out the onion as suggested by previous reviewers. I also had to add quite a bit more sugar to cut back on a very strong vinegar taste. After the adjustments it was quite good, especially with the toasted walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2004
My family won't eat anything if they know onions are in it so I just put some onion powder (not much, just a few shakes) into the dressing. I also used extra virgin olive oil instead of the vegetable oil. It was great at Thanksgiving and I'm making it for a Christmas party next week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2004
I got rave reviews for this salad at a potluck. I increased cranberries to 1/2C and decreased onions to 1/3C. I also used regular mustard but only 1/2 tsp. and extra virgin olive ol instead of vegetable oil. I used a blender instead of a food processor and it worked fine. A very good dressing that I will make to have on hand for other salads!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2004
I had been wanting to try this for a while and thought it would be great with the pork roast recipe I was making. Anyhow, I cannot tell you how disappointed I was with this. The only reason it is getting two stars is because my husband liked the flavor. I could only handle one bit and gave the rest to him. Won't be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2004
I can't figure out what, but I must have done something REALLY wrong. I used half the onions, more cranberries, more sugar and extra virgin olive oil and mine was terrible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2004
I followed the recipe perfectly, but the dressing just tasted like onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Jamie’s Cranberry Spinach Salad

Make a healthy spinach salad with a tangy, tasty vinaigrette.

Autumn Apple Salad II

This simple salad is tart, sweet, crisp, and refreshing.

Cranberry Salad II

This salad is bursting with fruit and nuts, and is a great holiday side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States