Apple Walnut Salad with Cranberry Vinaigrette Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2006
Great recipe for a delicious homemade recipe! Only thing I would recommend is use half the suggested amount of onions. I made the recipe to the specs and ened up adding more of everything else to balance the strong onion taste. I also love cranberries so I added more cranberries to really taste them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2006
Love the apples and walnuts in this salad. The dressing is also great, but I will put in less onion and more cranberries next time. I liked the thickness of the dressing and didn't actually add all the oil that was called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2006
This was a bit success for our Thanksgiving dinner. I used dried cranberries and olive oil. The dressing is thick but covers the salad nicely when tossed. I used fresh spinach. This was a refreshing twist on your typical spinach salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LinC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2006
Awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Krakow, Lesser Poland, Poland
Living In: Westchester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2005
I made this for Thanksgiving dinner this year and it was delicious. The dressing does have quite the onion bite but I liked it. I used canola oil instead of vegetable and next time I would use olive oil as I think it makes a better viniagrette. I also think it needed more oil, it was a very thick dressing. But alltogether really good and well received at the dinner table!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2005
This was delicious. I used fresh spinach instead of mixed greens. I also used dried cranberries for the dressing, then tossed a handful of dried cranberries into the salad. This is a perfect Autumn salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2005
The best part by far is the salad dressing. It can be a bit oniony so dont add as much if you don't favor onions. I've made this salad several times and the dressing even more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2005
This was great alternative to salad. I doubled the recipe but kept the oil amount the same. I used olive oil and used 1/2 cup red onions in the dressing since I was not sure how strong it would be. It was not overpowering at all. I used dried cranberries and ommitted the sugar. I added a total of 3 Tbs of mustard for the doubled recipe. I cut the apples up and tossed with a few more onion pieces over the lettuce. It was a hit. Plenty of dressing left over. I would recommend eating it on same day. Not the greatest as a leftover. Definitely worth making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2005
This recipe was OK. I will make it again, but with some substitutiions. The dressing had a very strong onion flavor. I may try a different type of onion. I will also try adding some fetta cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bartlett, Illinois, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2005
This is a great salad and a terrific dressing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Jamie’s Cranberry Spinach Salad

Make a healthy spinach salad with a tangy, tasty vinaigrette.

Autumn Apple Salad II

This simple salad is tart, sweet, crisp, and refreshing.

Cranberry Salad II

This salad is bursting with fruit and nuts, and is a great holiday side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States