Apple Walnut Salad with Cranberry Vinaigrette Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
Fabulous salad served for Thanksgiving dinner. The dressing was fantastic - I made a double batch so that I could have the leftovers! The only thing I changed is that rather than puree the cranberries, I actually simmer them for 10 minutes in the vinegar with the sugar and mustard, strained it and let it cool. I then hand-mixed it with a wisk rather than blend it. Past experience with blending dressings left them too frothy for my liking. Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2006
Great recipe for a delicious homemade recipe! Only thing I would recommend is use half the suggested amount of onions. I made the recipe to the specs and ened up adding more of everything else to balance the strong onion taste. I also love cranberries so I added more cranberries to really taste them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2006
Love the apples and walnuts in this salad. The dressing is also great, but I will put in less onion and more cranberries next time. I liked the thickness of the dressing and didn't actually add all the oil that was called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2006
This was a bit success for our Thanksgiving dinner. I used dried cranberries and olive oil. The dressing is thick but covers the salad nicely when tossed. I used fresh spinach. This was a refreshing twist on your typical spinach salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LinC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2006
Awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Krakow, Lesser Poland, Poland
Living In: Westchester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2005
I made this for Thanksgiving dinner this year and it was delicious. The dressing does have quite the onion bite but I liked it. I used canola oil instead of vegetable and next time I would use olive oil as I think it makes a better viniagrette. I also think it needed more oil, it was a very thick dressing. But alltogether really good and well received at the dinner table!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2005
This was delicious. I used fresh spinach instead of mixed greens. I also used dried cranberries for the dressing, then tossed a handful of dried cranberries into the salad. This is a perfect Autumn salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2005
The best part by far is the salad dressing. It can be a bit oniony so dont add as much if you don't favor onions. I've made this salad several times and the dressing even more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2005
This was great alternative to salad. I doubled the recipe but kept the oil amount the same. I used olive oil and used 1/2 cup red onions in the dressing since I was not sure how strong it would be. It was not overpowering at all. I used dried cranberries and ommitted the sugar. I added a total of 3 Tbs of mustard for the doubled recipe. I cut the apples up and tossed with a few more onion pieces over the lettuce. It was a hit. Plenty of dressing left over. I would recommend eating it on same day. Not the greatest as a leftover. Definitely worth making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2005
This recipe was OK. I will make it again, but with some substitutiions. The dressing had a very strong onion flavor. I may try a different type of onion. I will also try adding some fetta cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bartlett, Illinois, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Jamie’s Cranberry Spinach Salad

Make a healthy spinach salad with a tangy, tasty vinaigrette.

Autumn Apple Salad II

This simple salad is tart, sweet, crisp, and refreshing.

Cranberry Salad II

This salad is bursting with fruit and nuts, and is a great holiday side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States