Apple Walnut Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
Dry! Very dense, but even my very juicy apples couldn't help this. I watched it carefully and cooked it 10 minutes less that stated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
I read all the great reviews and decided to try it. It came out great. I agree, it's more of an apple bread than a cake. I added some cinnamon and nutmeg. Next time I'll chop the nuts superfine so the kids can't see them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
GREAT! For gluten free just substitute rice flour for wheat flour, and add 1 glass water. I didnt have buttermilk only regular and it came out just so good and moist and extremely tasty!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
I just caught this recipe tonight and upon realizing I had all the ingredients I made it on the spur of the moment. It is so simple and very quick to prepare. Like earlier reviewers I added a 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon and even some ground cloves I had just sitting around. I used slightly more than 1/4 cup of buttermilk and it was wonderful. At first I thought two apples would be too much judging by the huge mound on my cutting board, but after baking the pieces shrank to give a nice distribution of apples throughout the bread. I had to bake mine for about 75 minutes but it came out perfect. Very moist and not overly sweet. My first time making an apple bread but I will surely be making them more often thanks to this recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
Was a really good cake I doubled the recipe to make two loafs. I left the skin on the apples and Everyone really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hevayd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Crossett, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
This was AWESOME. My husband ate the entire thing! I used three apples, upped the milk a little, and added some cinnamon to the batter. (Thanks, Jillian!) Excellent recipe! This cooked for much longer than I expected, though (probably an extra 15 min), but that's probably because of the extra apples. Oh, also, I baked this in an 8x8 glass dish. I didn't think it would fit in a loaf pan! Delicious, though. Absolutely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jillian
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
Great recipe - it's actually more of an apple bread. I used 1/2 c. white sugar and 1/2 c. of brown sugar. I also upped the buttermilk to 1/4 c. and added 1 tsp. of cinnamon to the batter. I used three apples: one shredded and two chopped. I did two of these. One I made a topping for: 1/4 c. brown sugar, 1/4 c. flour, 2 tsp. of cinnamon, and 1/4 c. of butter. Combine the sugar, flour, and cinnamon in a bowl then cut the butter in until it resembles course crumbs. Halfway through baking sprinkle over top so it doesn't sink into the cake. The other one I did a caramel sauce: 1/4 c. brown sugar, 1/4 c. butter, 1/8 c. of cream (or half and half) bring to a boil and boil for 3 minutes, remove from heat and add 1/4 tsp. of vanilla. Let cool slightly before pouring over warm cake. Either way they're delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2007
Made this with pears in a bundt pan - it was delicious! Very moist with all the fruit. Also chopped the walnuts up super fine in the food processor to make a nutty flavor throughout. This one's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinNurse

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greeneville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2005
Really good cake. Moist and the walnuts really add to the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2004
Tasted great and easy to make, I suggest using more apples since that was the best part.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Goat Cheese Apple Walnut Pasta

See how to make a quick and delicious pasta side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States