Apple Walnut Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
Dry! Very dense, but even my very juicy apples couldn't help this. I watched it carefully and cooked it 10 minutes less that stated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
I read all the great reviews and decided to try it. It came out great. I agree, it's more of an apple bread than a cake. I added some cinnamon and nutmeg. Next time I'll chop the nuts superfine so the kids can't see them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
GREAT! For gluten free just substitute rice flour for wheat flour, and add 1 glass water. I didnt have buttermilk only regular and it came out just so good and moist and extremely tasty!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
I just caught this recipe tonight and upon realizing I had all the ingredients I made it on the spur of the moment. It is so simple and very quick to prepare. Like earlier reviewers I added a 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon and even some ground cloves I had just sitting around. I used slightly more than 1/4 cup of buttermilk and it was wonderful. At first I thought two apples would be too much judging by the huge mound on my cutting board, but after baking the pieces shrank to give a nice distribution of apples throughout the bread. I had to bake mine for about 75 minutes but it came out perfect. Very moist and not overly sweet. My first time making an apple bread but I will surely be making them more often thanks to this recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
Was a really good cake I doubled the recipe to make two loafs. I left the skin on the apples and Everyone really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hevayd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Crossett, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
This was AWESOME. My husband ate the entire thing! I used three apples, upped the milk a little, and added some cinnamon to the batter. (Thanks, Jillian!) Excellent recipe! This cooked for much longer than I expected, though (probably an extra 15 min), but that's probably because of the extra apples. Oh, also, I baked this in an 8x8 glass dish. I didn't think it would fit in a loaf pan! Delicious, though. Absolutely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jillian
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
Great recipe - it's actually more of an apple bread. I used 1/2 c. white sugar and 1/2 c. of brown sugar. I also upped the buttermilk to 1/4 c. and added 1 tsp. of cinnamon to the batter. I used three apples: one shredded and two chopped. I did two of these. One I made a topping for: 1/4 c. brown sugar, 1/4 c. flour, 2 tsp. of cinnamon, and 1/4 c. of butter. Combine the sugar, flour, and cinnamon in a bowl then cut the butter in until it resembles course crumbs. Halfway through baking sprinkle over top so it doesn't sink into the cake. The other one I did a caramel sauce: 1/4 c. brown sugar, 1/4 c. butter, 1/8 c. of cream (or half and half) bring to a boil and boil for 3 minutes, remove from heat and add 1/4 tsp. of vanilla. Let cool slightly before pouring over warm cake. Either way they're delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2007
Made this with pears in a bundt pan - it was delicious! Very moist with all the fruit. Also chopped the walnuts up super fine in the food processor to make a nutty flavor throughout. This one's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinNurse

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greeneville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2005
Really good cake. Moist and the walnuts really add to the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2004
Tasted great and easy to make, I suggest using more apples since that was the best part.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Pound Cake III

A classic recipe for a cream cheese pound cake.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States