Apple Walnut Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
I made this for Pastor Appreciation Month and gave it away without tasting it, but I want to rate it on the ease of making it and the consistency of the final outcome. From what I could see, it was moist and easily came out of my fluted bundt pan with plenty of greasing and flouring. My cake was done in 1 hour as the recipe indicated. I did make a vanilla glaze only because it looked a little bare without it and because I was making it as a gift, presentation was important. I can't wait to hear if my Pastor liked it...if he did, I will be making it again for my husband and myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
I just put this into the oven, but, why was my batter so thick? Should I have melted the butter? Hoping it turns out, keeping my fingers crossed, didn't realize I had to submit a rating @ this time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
This cake was a complete HIT with everyone who tried it! The only thing I changed was I used two whole apples, chopped (not sliced) and I used a Pampered Chef Cinnamon Plus Spice Blend instead of the two dry spices in the original recipe. The batter was VERY thick. I added just a splash of half and half (that's the only dairy I had) just to get it combined well. I cooked it in a bundt pan and it turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dixiegirlnc

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kaye
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
Moist and yummy to the last slice! I used 1 cup white sugar and 1 cup brown sugar for this recipe... I sliced the apples in cubes to achieve a crunchier result.. I topped the cake with Vanilla Glaze! Will definitely bake this again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaye

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
The cake is nice and moist, but is definitely better with a glaze over top than without.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by magnoliakng

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
This cake is absolutely delicious!! I've made 3 cakes in the last 2 weeks and everyone raved about how good they were. At first I thought the cake would turn out to be really dry because when I added the batter to the pan it seemed kind of chunky and not moist. However, ( i guess from all the apples) it actually turned out really moist and yummy. It took at least 1 hr and 15 mins to bake in my oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
My husband, daughter and son-in-law can't get enough of this cake. I made it as is and with pecans instead of walnuts. Either way they devoured it. Simply irristible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
This cake was moist and delicious. I used Honeycrisp apples and chopped them. I also substituted half of the sugar with brown sugar. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
cake was way good i was surprised although i did add 1/4 cup OJ for moisture. Was better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
Dangerously good! made two loaves and my husband brought one into the office...disappeared immediately!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States