Apple Walnut Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
I just put this into the oven, but, why was my batter so thick? Should I have melted the butter? Hoping it turns out, keeping my fingers crossed, didn't realize I had to submit a rating @ this time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
This cake was a complete HIT with everyone who tried it! The only thing I changed was I used two whole apples, chopped (not sliced) and I used a Pampered Chef Cinnamon Plus Spice Blend instead of the two dry spices in the original recipe. The batter was VERY thick. I added just a splash of half and half (that's the only dairy I had) just to get it combined well. I cooked it in a bundt pan and it turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dixiegirlnc

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kaye
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
Moist and yummy to the last slice! I used 1 cup white sugar and 1 cup brown sugar for this recipe... I sliced the apples in cubes to achieve a crunchier result.. I topped the cake with Vanilla Glaze! Will definitely bake this again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaye

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
The cake is nice and moist, but is definitely better with a glaze over top than without.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by magnoliakng

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
This cake is absolutely delicious!! I've made 3 cakes in the last 2 weeks and everyone raved about how good they were. At first I thought the cake would turn out to be really dry because when I added the batter to the pan it seemed kind of chunky and not moist. However, ( i guess from all the apples) it actually turned out really moist and yummy. It took at least 1 hr and 15 mins to bake in my oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
My husband, daughter and son-in-law can't get enough of this cake. I made it as is and with pecans instead of walnuts. Either way they devoured it. Simply irristible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
This cake was moist and delicious. I used Honeycrisp apples and chopped them. I also substituted half of the sugar with brown sugar. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
cake was way good i was surprised although i did add 1/4 cup OJ for moisture. Was better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
Dangerously good! made two loaves and my husband brought one into the office...disappeared immediately!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
Wonderful! I too had to finagle the cake out of the pan, but it came out, eventually, & tasted heavenly! Instead of slices, I did a large chop with the apples, & for fun, I put a cider glaze over the top (juice or cider, brn sug, couple pats of butter, reduced to syrup)....The cake would have been terrific without, & next time, I won't bother that extra step...Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leominster, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Hubbardston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Goat Cheese Apple Walnut Pasta

See how to make a quick and delicious pasta side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States