Apple Walnut Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2002
what a complete mess. i should have suspected from the directions that it didn't make sense to put all the sugar with the apples. needed some of the sugar to beat with the eggs and oil. a complete flop, the cake is caved in all around the bundt pan and what a waste of ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisalisa

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2003
I made this cake and it came out very good. Everyone enjoyed it. I didn't have any problems with the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Duarte, California, USA
Living In: Monrovia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2004
In 50 + years of baking. I think the problem is in the way it is put together, with all the sugar being added to the apples and not the batter first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2005
I was scared to try this cake because of some of the other reviews, but it turned out really good. I made a caramel glaze for it and that added a nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2005
I took the advice favoring putting only part of the sugar with the apples. I put a half of cup, and the rest I mixed with the eggs and vanilla. The cake was great. It was light, moist, and flavorful. I sprinkled it with confectionary sugar. Would definitely recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2006
I found this recipe to be horrible! Maybe because it didn't state how large the apples should be chopped. I did measure carefully, as the recipe prompted; thoroughly greased & floured my bundt pan, but the cake fell apart when I tried to remove it. I was planning to take it to a party, but had to go to the trouble of making something else. And, I'm not a bad baker; in fact, I've received praise for my treats when I bring them and have won a blue ribbon for a recipe I submitted to a contest in a local newspaper.All those expensive ingredients, all the work, and I ended up with a mess which my husband wants me to throw away, and I probably will, as I'm diabetic. I was thoroughly disappointed, to say the least! Baker Toni
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
I came across this recipe when I was in a pinch on Christmas Eve. All the ingredients were items I already had on hand, it was convenient, quick, and absolutely delicious! I don't understand what the fuss is about, I followed the recipe precisely and it came out perfect! It's definately going to be a new holiday tradition in my family. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
I followed the receipe exactly and this turned out to be a very dry cake. I was glad to read that some people had success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
My Apple Walnut Cake turned out a beautiful, moist and flavorsome cake. However I did take some readers' advice and beat half the sugar with the eggs and oil and combined the other half with the apples. Also, I reduced the quantity of sugar from 2 cups to 1 1/2 cups, but that i guess is a matter of personal taste. All in all, a great recipe and a scrumptious cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
This cake was fantastic. I made it just as the directions indicated, and it was wonderful. Not TOO sweet. Was very easy to make also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OLDMOVIEADDICT

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States