Apple Walnut Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
Great cake I did what others suggested with the sugar the only thing I did different was adding a splash of fresh cider to the chopped Apple's. Next time I make it I will not bake it for sixty minutes but Will check it at 55! Cake was moist and light.I did dust it with powdered Sugar but a glaze would top if off! DELISH!! Oh, I added a half cup raisins..Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Murphy, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
I think this is a fantastic recipe. When I was younger my first job was in a bakery, and they used to sell an apple walnut cake. They would never give me the recipe, but this one is the one I've been searching for forever! I did take the suggestion of beating half the sugar with the oil and eggs, and it turned out perfect. I didn't have a bunt pan, so I used a nine-inch spring form pan. It worked, but the center was a little burnt, so I would definitely reccomend using the bunt pan. The batter looks as if it's going to be very dry, but the moisture from the apples keeps it moist. I topped it with dulce de leche (sort of like caramel) and crushed walnuts. It's delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2003
I made this cake and it came out very good. Everyone enjoyed it. I didn't have any problems with the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Duarte, California, USA
Living In: Monrovia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2005
I took the advice favoring putting only part of the sugar with the apples. I put a half of cup, and the rest I mixed with the eggs and vanilla. The cake was great. It was light, moist, and flavorful. I sprinkled it with confectionary sugar. Would definitely recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
I came across this recipe when I was in a pinch on Christmas Eve. All the ingredients were items I already had on hand, it was convenient, quick, and absolutely delicious! I don't understand what the fuss is about, I followed the recipe precisely and it came out perfect! It's definately going to be a new holiday tradition in my family. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
I absolutely love this recipe. I made it first for Christmas dinner. I made up an easy little icing of cream cheese, apples and walnuts along with powdered sugar and a splash of milk. My 2 brothers said it was the best cake ever. In fact, my sister and I always have a "competition" and I was crowned champ :). This past weekend I made the cake again along with my icing for some family that was visiting - we actually had it while it was still warm and the icing was gooey - OH MY GOSH - it was delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
I made this cake, but changed the process. Mixed the sugar, flour, soda, cinnamon and salt together. Beat the eggs, oil and vanilla separately, then added to flour mixture. Batter is very thick. Then I added the apples and nuts and poured/spread into a 9X13 pan and baked for 40 minutes. It was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
Have made this cake many times through the years. I was taught to core and chop the apples, pour all of sugar over apples and refrigerate for an hour. This way apples and sugar make their own juice making cake very dense and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by peachijane2
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
Very easy recipe. I also took the advice from the comments and divided the sugar between the egg mixture and the apples. The cake came out perfect, even though I forgot to add the walnuts. Served it with vanilla ice cream and homemade caramel sauce!!! Will be my new go to recipe and dessert for Thanksgiving!!! Another comment is that is was very moist and everyone in my family loved it, my granddaughter couldn't stop saying how much she loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
This was absolutely delicious. I used a "generous" cup of nuts because I really like nuts; but made no other changes. It was excellent. Moist, not too sweet; gone before I could take a picture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wise, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States