Apple Walnut Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2002
what a complete mess. i should have suspected from the directions that it didn't make sense to put all the sugar with the apples. needed some of the sugar to beat with the eggs and oil. a complete flop, the cake is caved in all around the bundt pan and what a waste of ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisalisa

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2005
I took the advice favoring putting only part of the sugar with the apples. I put a half of cup, and the rest I mixed with the eggs and vanilla. The cake was great. It was light, moist, and flavorful. I sprinkled it with confectionary sugar. Would definitely recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2003
I made this cake and it came out very good. Everyone enjoyed it. I didn't have any problems with the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Duarte, California, USA
Living In: Monrovia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
I absolutely love this recipe. I made it first for Christmas dinner. I made up an easy little icing of cream cheese, apples and walnuts along with powdered sugar and a splash of milk. My 2 brothers said it was the best cake ever. In fact, my sister and I always have a "competition" and I was crowned champ :). This past weekend I made the cake again along with my icing for some family that was visiting - we actually had it while it was still warm and the icing was gooey - OH MY GOSH - it was delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2004
In 50 + years of baking. I think the problem is in the way it is put together, with all the sugar being added to the apples and not the batter first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
My Apple Walnut Cake turned out a beautiful, moist and flavorsome cake. However I did take some readers' advice and beat half the sugar with the eggs and oil and combined the other half with the apples. Also, I reduced the quantity of sugar from 2 cups to 1 1/2 cups, but that i guess is a matter of personal taste. All in all, a great recipe and a scrumptious cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
This cake was fantastic. I made it just as the directions indicated, and it was wonderful. Not TOO sweet. Was very easy to make also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
I followed the receipe exactly and this turned out to be a very dry cake. I was glad to read that some people had success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
I came across this recipe when I was in a pinch on Christmas Eve. All the ingredients were items I already had on hand, it was convenient, quick, and absolutely delicious! I don't understand what the fuss is about, I followed the recipe precisely and it came out perfect! It's definately going to be a new holiday tradition in my family. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2005
I was scared to try this cake because of some of the other reviews, but it turned out really good. I made a caramel glaze for it and that added a nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States