Apple Walnut Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
Very moist, and it looked exactly as in the picture. Everyone in my office loved it. But the only problem was I could not taste the apple but everything else. I could definetaly tasted the sugar so maybe next time I will put less sugar. But other than that my coworkers enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chocoluvs
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
I used 1/2 sugar as well on the apples, other half I used brown sugar, also substituted applesauce for oil for a bit more healthier, very moist and turned out nice and dark with the brown sugar. No need for icing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chocoluvs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
I absolutely love this recipe. I made it first for Christmas dinner. I made up an easy little icing of cream cheese, apples and walnuts along with powdered sugar and a splash of milk. My 2 brothers said it was the best cake ever. In fact, my sister and I always have a "competition" and I was crowned champ :). This past weekend I made the cake again along with my icing for some family that was visiting - we actually had it while it was still warm and the icing was gooey - OH MY GOSH - it was delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
This cake was fantastic. I made it just as the directions indicated, and it was wonderful. Not TOO sweet. Was very easy to make also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
My Apple Walnut Cake turned out a beautiful, moist and flavorsome cake. However I did take some readers' advice and beat half the sugar with the eggs and oil and combined the other half with the apples. Also, I reduced the quantity of sugar from 2 cups to 1 1/2 cups, but that i guess is a matter of personal taste. All in all, a great recipe and a scrumptious cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
I followed the receipe exactly and this turned out to be a very dry cake. I was glad to read that some people had success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
I came across this recipe when I was in a pinch on Christmas Eve. All the ingredients were items I already had on hand, it was convenient, quick, and absolutely delicious! I don't understand what the fuss is about, I followed the recipe precisely and it came out perfect! It's definately going to be a new holiday tradition in my family. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2006
I found this recipe to be horrible! Maybe because it didn't state how large the apples should be chopped. I did measure carefully, as the recipe prompted; thoroughly greased & floured my bundt pan, but the cake fell apart when I tried to remove it. I was planning to take it to a party, but had to go to the trouble of making something else. And, I'm not a bad baker; in fact, I've received praise for my treats when I bring them and have won a blue ribbon for a recipe I submitted to a contest in a local newspaper.All those expensive ingredients, all the work, and I ended up with a mess which my husband wants me to throw away, and I probably will, as I'm diabetic. I was thoroughly disappointed, to say the least! Baker Toni
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2005
I took the advice favoring putting only part of the sugar with the apples. I put a half of cup, and the rest I mixed with the eggs and vanilla. The cake was great. It was light, moist, and flavorful. I sprinkled it with confectionary sugar. Would definitely recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2005
I was scared to try this cake because of some of the other reviews, but it turned out really good. I made a caramel glaze for it and that added a nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States