Apple Walnut Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
I loved it! So did my family! It was super easy to make and I loved the combo of the apples/walnuts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dee2014
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
I love this recipe! I have made this a couple times and didn't have apple sauce either time, so added fruit juice to the apple mixture with a 1/4 tsp extra cinnamon, then added all of the liquid stuff to that before adding the flour mixture. This time I used 1/2 cup juice from canned mandarin oranges, last time I think it was canned peach juice and I added it to the batter at the end so I'd know how much liquid it needed. Made walnuts optional. I made a dozen muffins from the batter first, which needed to be baked about 30-40 minutes at 325-350, depending on oven accuracy. The rest of the batter went into a bread pan and baked about 70 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
I had to log in this morning to rate this because it is SO GOOD. It's got an amazing crust on all sides--nice and crackly. I used 1/2 white and 1/2 brown sugar, and probably more apples because I have so many to use up, but other than that stuck to the recipe. So good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEMURONE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
I didn't have whole wheat flour, so I used white flour. Cooking time was 70 minutes. The flavor was just ok. It needed at least triple the spices, b/c I had already doubled them, and added apple pie spice too. I'm not sure I liked the texture, it wasn't very bread-like. It was extremely dense. I also used 1/4C of oil and 3/4C of applesauce. While I know I didn't go EXACTLY to recipe, the gist of it was not overly impressive. My husband's mother makes an EXTREMELY similar recipe, so I used this one instead and the reviewers' tips. I will probably try to find something a bit more impressive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bloomington, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
Good bread. I can't eat walnuts, so instead i added about a cup of fresh blueberries. I also used all apple sauce, and no oil, and didn't use wheat flour because I don't have any. I also used about 1/2 the amount of cinnamon and 1/2 ground nutmeg. Overall, it was very good and I"ll add it to my recipe book. One complaint, and this might be a personal preference because it seems all my breads come out this way, it was a bit too sticky and moist for me. I like breads I dont have to remove the sticky residue from my finger each time I touch it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
Absolutely delicious! I followed the recipe except for I also used 1/2 cup oil and 1/2 cup apple sauce but next batch I am going to use 1/4 oil and 3/4 applesauce. I also added 2 teaspoons of cinnamon. Perfect for Christmas Morning!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
This was a great way to use up a bunch of apples I had in the fridge. I followed others' suggestions of cutting back on the oil and increasing the apple sauce. I also substituted half of the sugar for splenda. I baked it at 350 and it took 50 minutes. It turned out very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
Followed the directions as a base. Used half and half applesauce and oil, doubled the cinnamon, added 1/3 teaspoon of cloves and some fresh grated nutmeg, and the zest and juice of 2 tangerines. Baked for 50 minutes at 350. Makes 2 loaves and it was delicious. We have 18 apple trees, this recipe is going to be a keeper! Took a loaf to a friend's house and the 6 of us ate the entire loaf with lunch, LOL.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cheffster
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
I used to think that only experienced grandmothers and bakers could make cakes and breads... but I'm doing just fine despite my youthful perceptions, thanks. This is marvelous. I used granny apples because I wanted a bit more tartness since my Apple Coffee Cake. The recipe directions were spot on which is so sweet.. this is a delicious apple walnut bread
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheffster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Plymouth, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
Excellent. Everyone loved this bread. Wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Goat Cheese Apple Walnut Pasta

See how to make a quick and delicious pasta side dish.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States