Apple Walnut Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2003
Good recipe. I used only all-purpose flour, as I didn't have wheat flour, and it turned out fine. Baked mini-loaves instead of two regular sized. If you do that, you'll need to cut baking time from 70 minutes to about 40 minutes or so. Keep checking frequently once you've hit 35 minutes to make sure the sides don't burn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2006
We LOVE this bread. I didn't use whole wheat flour, because I didn't have any, and I followed the advice of some other reviewers and used a 1/2 cup of oil and a 1/2 cup of applesauce--and it turned out great. So moist and apple-y. Next time I will add a 1/2 tsp or so of allspice to make it taste even more like apple pie. And I may toast the walnuts, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2005
We loved this bread & it didn't last very long. Although I would suggest chopping the apples not too fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elaine Campbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2007
Excellent bread and healthy. Used also 1/2 cup of apple sauce and 1/2 cup of oil. Decreased the sugar to 1 1/2 cup and the salt to 3/4 teaspoon. All my friends wanted the recipe! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2006
This bread is moist, apply, nutty, and yummy. It improved a lot after a day or two. I followed the suggestions to use half whole wheat and half white flour, and half oil and half applesauce. My cooking time was 60 minutes at 300 degrees. A recipe worth saving, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2006
This was very good; but I baked it at 350 (I've never baked a quick bread at 300)and the baking time was much less than stated - more like 50-55 min. - Oh and I also used 1/2 cup applesauce and modified the oil accordingly. Everybody loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: North Haven, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2005
I took the suggestion to go 1/2 & 1/2 on the oil and applesauce and I used all-purpose white flour only. It took 70 minutes to cook. This came out so moist & yummy. I am making more to give as Chirstmas gifts at the office.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Courtney
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2006
Great recipe! I used 3/4 cup of applesauce and 1/4 cup of oil instead of the other way around. Also I added 2 tsps of flax seed meal for extra fiber. Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtney

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Califon, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2003
Great recipe! Delicious, melts in your mouth...I loved it. Baking time was 40 minutes instead of 70 though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2006
This was great - I will definitely make it again. I added 1/2 tsp. cloves and used granny smith apples - tasted like apple pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Goat Cheese Apple Walnut Pasta

See how to make a quick and delicious pasta side dish.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States