Apple Walnut Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2006
This was very good; but I baked it at 350 (I've never baked a quick bread at 300)and the baking time was much less than stated - more like 50-55 min. - Oh and I also used 1/2 cup applesauce and modified the oil accordingly. Everybody loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: North Haven, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Courtney
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2006
Great recipe! I used 3/4 cup of applesauce and 1/4 cup of oil instead of the other way around. Also I added 2 tsps of flax seed meal for extra fiber. Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtney

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Califon, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2006
We LOVE this bread. I didn't use whole wheat flour, because I didn't have any, and I followed the advice of some other reviewers and used a 1/2 cup of oil and a 1/2 cup of applesauce--and it turned out great. So moist and apple-y. Next time I will add a 1/2 tsp or so of allspice to make it taste even more like apple pie. And I may toast the walnuts, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2006
This was great - I will definitely make it again. I added 1/2 tsp. cloves and used granny smith apples - tasted like apple pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2006
lovely bread; very moist. Had to make some modifications because as I was making this, realized only had 1 large gala apple so also chopped up carrots and added half a tangerine peel. Threw the apple, carrot, and peel into my food processor and that made it extra easy. Left the skin on the apple, as I like the red bits of color. Omitted nuts and used a 1/2 cup raisins and 1/2 cup choc. chips (choc. complimented the tangerine flavor well). Made 1 8 in loaf and 3 mini loaves. Used 1 cup white and 3/4 brown sugar for a darker richer loaf. Added 1/2 tsp. each nutmeg and cardamom. Also used 1/2 applesauce and 1/2 oil. *May need to add a little extra spice if you don't like things too bland. The spice additions were not overpowering but complimented the other flavors nicely. Great way for me to clean out my refrigerator crisper!! Baked for 50 minutes in my oven. A keeper recipe and because it makes a thicker batter, nuts or raisins, or the chips won't sink to the bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2006
This bread is great. I chose canola oil myself and omitted the applesauce (b/c I didn't have any) and it turned out just fine. Baked in 8x8 cake pan for 40 mins @ 350 - just felt like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2006
This bread is moist, apply, nutty, and yummy. It improved a lot after a day or two. I followed the suggestions to use half whole wheat and half white flour, and half oil and half applesauce. My cooking time was 60 minutes at 300 degrees. A recipe worth saving, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2006
Very moist bread which got even better the next day. I made a regular size loaf and 7 mini loaves. I like baking the mini loaves better due to the decreased baking time (30 minutes). While they were cooking, my mom kept asking if they were done (a big compliment to me)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2005
We loved this bread & it didn't last very long. Although I would suggest chopping the apples not too fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elaine Campbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2005
I took the suggestion to go 1/2 & 1/2 on the oil and applesauce and I used all-purpose white flour only. It took 70 minutes to cook. This came out so moist & yummy. I am making more to give as Chirstmas gifts at the office.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Goat Cheese Apple Walnut Pasta

See how to make a quick and delicious pasta side dish.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States