Apple Walnut Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
This was a great way to use up a bunch of apples I had in the fridge. I followed others' suggestions of cutting back on the oil and increasing the apple sauce. I also substituted half of the sugar for splenda. I baked it at 350 and it took 50 minutes. It turned out very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
Followed the directions as a base. Used half and half applesauce and oil, doubled the cinnamon, added 1/3 teaspoon of cloves and some fresh grated nutmeg, and the zest and juice of 2 tangerines. Baked for 50 minutes at 350. Makes 2 loaves and it was delicious. We have 18 apple trees, this recipe is going to be a keeper! Took a loaf to a friend's house and the 6 of us ate the entire loaf with lunch, LOL.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chefster
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
I used to think that only experienced grandmothers and bakers could make cakes and breads... but I'm doing just fine despite my youthful perceptions, thanks. This is marvelous. I used granny apples because I wanted a bit more tartness since my Apple Coffee Cake. The recipe directions were spot on which is so sweet.. this is a delicious apple walnut bread
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chefster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Plymouth, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
Excellent. Everyone loved this bread. Wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
I liked this recipe. I didn't use wheat flour because I didn't have any, so I substituted it for all-purpose. I added fresh nutmeg and instead of using 3/4 cups of oil I used 1/4 cups and replaced it with the applesauce! Very moist. However, if I were to make it again I would try shredding the apples instead of chopping them, just for aesthetic purposes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Verena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
This bread is so Yummy!! 2 loaves don't last a day in my house!! The last time I made it, I used 1/2 cup each of canola oil and applesauce, 1 1/2 cups each of the all purpose flour and whole wheat flour, and doubled the cinnamon and vanilla. Came out perfect! I also tried this recipe omitting the walnuts and substituting blueberries for the apples, very, very yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
Yum yum. I made the recipe in a 10 inch tube pan and had to bake mine an extra 10 minutes. It doesn't rise much and the batter was pretty thick too. My apples didn't disappear in the bread because I left them chunky. I only added a little nutmeg in with the cinnamon. Thanks for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Swainsboro, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
I thought that the Apple Walnut Bread was delicious! It was moist and I loved the walnut in it. The only thing that I did different from the recipe was that I did half and half with the applesauce and oil. I used a half cup of oil and half cup of applesauce. Came out great! Thought 1 cup of oil was too much, would have made it oily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
Came out awful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
This is awesome! I reversed the amounts of oil and applesauce, and used homemade applesauce. It was very moist and delicious! I made a double batch, so I added some dried cranberries and made muffins with the extra batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Goat Cheese Apple Walnut Pasta

See how to make a quick and delicious pasta side dish.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States