Apple Ugly Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
I made this cake this past weekend for a church bake sale and got RAVE reviews for it. This is now my holy grail recipe for apple cake. The only changes I made were adding an extra egg (I was using small pullet eggs) and 1/2 C. water. The batter is too stiff if you don't add the water. I baked the cake as directed and it turned out perfectly!! Thanks to the original poster for this recipe. I will make this cake over and over again for years to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Eileen in IL
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2007
This cake is delicious. I would not call it ugly, but maybe "Apple Unadorned Cake" would be a better name. It could use a strudel or a glaze to "pretty" it up, but it tastes fabulous without. I too added the one cup of milk - I wonder if the cake would be uglier if baked without it? The batter was just WAY too dry, and I couldn't bring myself to cut up all those apples for a dry, lumpy cake. My husband said this one tasted like a quick bread, and wanted to either put butter or cream cheese frosting on it. I'm bringing it to a brunch tomorrow, but we sampled a piece each, and we agree - this one's a keeper. Thanks! Edited to add: I made this the first two times with canola oil, and it was fabulous. When I made it with veggie oil, it had a really strong "oil" taste to it - I ended up throwing a lot of it away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eileen in IL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Henrietta, New York, USA
Living In: Spiro, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2006
loved the cake and wouldn't change a thing. now a family favourtie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2007
I've made this cake three times. Twice as directed and once adding 1 cup milk as others have suggested. The milk changed the consistency of the cake. Although it was good it's much better without adding milk. Try it as directed you won't be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
I took another reviewer's advice and added a cup of liquid (milk) to the batter. The top was deliciously crunchy/chewy. I don't even like raisins, but I LOVED them in this cake! I might try it with dried cranberries instead of raisins next time. That sounds like it'd be nice and tangy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha Li

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2006
This cake was very easy to make. I was surprised to see how stiff the batter was and had to really work to incorporate the diced apples. I topped the cake with the cup of apples that I did not put in the batter. I did not put in the raisins, but will the next time I make this. I had crumb topping from a previous recipe which I used to covered the cake. My cake wasn't ugly at all!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2006
Very good. I'm going to use less oil the next time...it was a little too oily for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wimberley, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
This has been the most popular thing I've made and the thing I'm asked to repeat most often. Moist and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2007
There was nothing ugly about this cake. My cake looked very nice and tasted great too. My husband and I loved this cake and we warmed it up in the microwave and had a piece everyday until it was gone. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Annapolis, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2007
Taste so good, like those you buy in high-end cafes. Do add 1 cup of milk, as recommended by one reviewer. I reduced the sugar to 1 1/4 cup and the sweetness is just right. The cake is not ugly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise Zuriel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States