Apple Ugly Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2007
I've made this cake three times. Twice as directed and once adding 1 cup milk as others have suggested. The milk changed the consistency of the cake. Although it was good it's much better without adding milk. Try it as directed you won't be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
I make this cake often, exactly as it is here. It is delicious. I get tons of compliments, so thanks whoever posted this! The apples have so much water in them that it cooks out into the batter and makes something I can only describe as an apple spice cake with the moisture of a brownie. My friend HATES cake but he loves this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Eileen in IL
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2007
This cake is delicious. I would not call it ugly, but maybe "Apple Unadorned Cake" would be a better name. It could use a strudel or a glaze to "pretty" it up, but it tastes fabulous without. I too added the one cup of milk - I wonder if the cake would be uglier if baked without it? The batter was just WAY too dry, and I couldn't bring myself to cut up all those apples for a dry, lumpy cake. My husband said this one tasted like a quick bread, and wanted to either put butter or cream cheese frosting on it. I'm bringing it to a brunch tomorrow, but we sampled a piece each, and we agree - this one's a keeper. Thanks! Edited to add: I made this the first two times with canola oil, and it was fabulous. When I made it with veggie oil, it had a really strong "oil" taste to it - I ended up throwing a lot of it away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eileen in IL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Henrietta, New York, USA
Living In: Spiro, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2005
I chose this cake for it's simplicity and the name. It tasted great. I substituted 1 cup of white flour to wheat. The cake was pretty, light, crunchy and GREAT!! I made it for a party and served it with whipped cream. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Norsborg, Stockholms, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
I woke up on Christmas morning after having been ill for a few days and was regretting not having made something special for breakfast. Apple Ugly Cake to the rescue!!! Just super! I made it exactly as written and was thrilled with the result. I luckily had a bag of Macoun apples I had bought to make pies and I do think that they helped perfect the cake. But, I am sure a mix of Grannies and Macs would be just fine, also. THANK YOU for posting this, MTWOMAN!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
REALLY GOOD! The only difference to the actual recipe that I made was that I used 1 1/2 cups of sugar instead of 2 and I used corn oil instead of vegetable oil. I also poured the batter into a tube pan instead of a 9x13 dish, and baked it for 1 hour 15 min. Other than that, I left it just the same and will definitely make it again, hopefully soon :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StrLuvr130

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
This cake is delicious. I cut down on the oil to 1 C. and only baked it 1 hour and it was done. I was surprised that none of the reviews mentioned how long it was to be in the oven. I served it, dusted with powdered sugar, to my book group and everyone loved it. It was very moist and flavorful. Tonight I baked it again using those same changes and I also used Craisins as I was out of raisins. I'm sure that will taste great also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WeezaG

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring City, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
I took another reviewer's advice and added a cup of liquid (milk) to the batter. The top was deliciously crunchy/chewy. I don't even like raisins, but I LOVED them in this cake! I might try it with dried cranberries instead of raisins next time. That sounds like it'd be nice and tangy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha Li

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
We make this cake as the recipe states and we love it! Have taken it to family events and it always goes over well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by fakeymcfake
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
Excellent, I didn't change anything, the suggested milk isn't really necessary in my opinion, since the apples do give a lot of moisture while baking. I sprinkled around half a cup of sliced almonds on top before baking, made the ugly cake into a prettier cake. Had 4 granny apples in the fridge which weren't all that fresh anymore. The people loved this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fakeymcfake

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States