Apple Ugly Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
OH MY GOODNESS!I love this recipe.So easy and everyone loves it!Didn't change a thing except added a little milk so the batter was alittle better, not so thick.Great recipe!Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mom4HIM

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
I woke up on Christmas morning after having been ill for a few days and was regretting not having made something special for breakfast. Apple Ugly Cake to the rescue!!! Just super! I made it exactly as written and was thrilled with the result. I luckily had a bag of Macoun apples I had bought to make pies and I do think that they helped perfect the cake. But, I am sure a mix of Grannies and Macs would be just fine, also. THANK YOU for posting this, MTWOMAN!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
This makes a great breakfast/coffee cake. I subbed 1/2 wheat flour as well as 1/2 a cup of applesauce for some of the oil to make it a bit healthier. I baked it in a bundt pan and after unmolding it, I drizzled a little powered sugar glaze for appearance (which took care of the "ugly" part :-). It was very moist and tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
This cake is superb! I was initially worried when it cooked faster than recommended in my overachieving oven however it turned out well. I sprinkled a little confectioners sugar over the top and it added just enough sweetness to entice hubby. This cake gets better after a couple of days, next time I will make it ahead of time and let it moisten and the flavors develop in a covered dish. Wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
Yum, this is amazing. We've made it several times now and it always turns out perfect. Initally, my kids kind of scoffed at the appearance but after one bite they were all sold. Definitely a 5 star recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
We love this recipe! I try to make it a little bit healthier by substituting 1/2 of the oil for apple sauce. I also substitute in 1/3 to 1/4 or so of the flour as whole wheat flour. Not very noticable, but much healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2008
This clake was the best cake I have ever made....Adding the 1 cup of milk as another suggested was exactly what it needed! This cake was the first i had ever made that I didnt have a hard time getting it out of the pan!! PERFECT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lloydminster, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
I decided to cut the calories on this recipe when I made it. I used Splenda for 1/2 of the sugar and unsweetened applesauce for 1/2 of the oil. Both worked great! I also added in an extra cup of apples and added the 1 cup of (skim) milk, as others had suggested. A very moist cake and the chunks of apples almost make it seem like an Apple Pie-Cake. The chunks of apple make this recipe different then most apple cake recipes. Yummy! I keep this cake in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodstock, Illinois, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
This was actually better the day after I made it. It seemed more moist then fresh from the oven. I did add some milk because I could barely stir the batter. Came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bellevue, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2007
i substituted most of the oil with milk! Maybe the original with all oil would taste better...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States