Apple Ugly Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
Good flavor, but much too oily. I followed the recipe exactly. Will make again, but next time will cut the oil at least by half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
We enjoyed this very much and ate every last bit of it, but decided we like my orignal apple cake recipe from my good old Better Homes and Gardens cookbook. Gonna have to stick with that recipe.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lisbon, Maine, USA
Living In: Laconia, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
REALLY GOOD! The only difference to the actual recipe that I made was that I used 1 1/2 cups of sugar instead of 2 and I used corn oil instead of vegetable oil. I also poured the batter into a tube pan instead of a 9x13 dish, and baked it for 1 hour 15 min. Other than that, I left it just the same and will definitely make it again, hopefully soon :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StrLuvr130

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
This cake is delicious. I cut down on the oil to 1 C. and only baked it 1 hour and it was done. I was surprised that none of the reviews mentioned how long it was to be in the oven. I served it, dusted with powdered sugar, to my book group and everyone loved it. It was very moist and flavorful. Tonight I baked it again using those same changes and I also used Craisins as I was out of raisins. I'm sure that will taste great also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WeezaG

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring City, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
We make this cake as the recipe states and we love it! Have taken it to family events and it always goes over well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
Very average, nobody could really taste the apple, just a generic somewhat fruity sweetness.. It was also very dense, probably because of all the oil? maybe i should have substituted some of the oil with applesauce. The only change i did was to cut down some sugar, to about 140g and the sweetness was just nice. This tastes better when chilled though, and goes well with a cream cheese frosting, to give it a slightly more complex flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by swiish

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
It was good, but not exceptional. I won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
Wonderful cake! I substituted butter for oil. Perfect. It looks dry and crumbly as your mixing the ingredients, but don't fret...it comes out light and perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Warwick, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by fakeymcfake
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
Excellent, I didn't change anything, the suggested milk isn't really necessary in my opinion, since the apples do give a lot of moisture while baking. I sprinkled around half a cup of sliced almonds on top before baking, made the ugly cake into a prettier cake. Had 4 granny apples in the fridge which weren't all that fresh anymore. The people loved this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fakeymcfake

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
I make this cake often, exactly as it is here. It is delicious. I get tons of compliments, so thanks whoever posted this! The apples have so much water in them that it cooks out into the batter and makes something I can only describe as an apple spice cake with the moisture of a brownie. My friend HATES cake but he loves this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States