Apple Turnovers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2004
I am making these for the second time in two weeks. They are delicious and easy. My husband can't get enough of them. They would be even easier with the use of canned pie filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alcester, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2004
These were fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2004
This was easy and came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2005
I was truly amazed at how wonderful these were! I had never worked with puff pastry before, so I was a little nervous, but my guests couldn't believe the turnovers weren't store-bought. I'd also like to add that they are very EASY to make too. Thank you for this receipe -- it is a new Christmas breakfast tradition at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ORtrillium

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2006
A perfect filling for apple turnovers! I used my own pastry crust, doubled the cinnamon, added a bit of allspice and sprinkled with Demerara sugar crystals rather than glaze. Yummy right out of the oven with a scoop of vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
205 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2005
Delicious turnovers. I made these for dessert and they were great. Didn't take too long to prepare but could probably be prepared ahead of time and baked when you're ready. I added about a shot of spiced rum (be sure to pull pan off heat to burn off the alcohol) to the apples at the same time as the cinnamon, which enhanced the flavor plenty. Make sure to cool the apples before adding to pastry, I forgot that step and resulted in messy turnovers. Also lined the cookie sheet with parchment paper for easy cleanup. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2006
Quick, easy and tasty! I made these with refrig pie crust I had leftover from Christmas and the only change I made was to double the cinnamon - because I always do in pie! I didn't ice, just ate as is. Is now in my Recipe box and next I will try using the new brown sugar Splenda - will let you all know the result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA
Living In: Swartz Creek, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2006
Very good and very easy! I've never made pies or turnovers before, so I was delighted that this turned out well. I followed the other reviewers' suggestions and doubled the amount of cinnamon. Instead of using the glaze, I combined powdered sugar and cinnamon and dusted it over the turnovers. This would be a nice brunch item.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by always_hungry

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Charleston, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2005
These turnovers are incredible. The crust was flaky & the filling was very flavorful. I'll be making these on a weekly basis - if not more often. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tuscola, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chantilly, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2006
very nice.Since it was first time using puff patry,just a note that after thawing it,its easier to spread it out by hand than rolling out.it was delicious.and definitely cover tyhe baking sheet with parchment paper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 374) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Turnovers

Anyone can make these delicious homemade apple pastries.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Apple Crisp with Oat Topping

Cinnamon apples bake under a simple topping of sweet, buttery oats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States