Apple Turnovers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2008
Thanks to frozen puff pastry, these are quick and simple with great results. No need to bother with soaking the apples in lemon amd water. Also, I just mixed the cornstarch in with the brown sugar mixture, with no additional water, and cooked the apples until tender and the juices had thickened, then added a little vanilla. After filling and closing the turnovers, I secured the edges by pressing them with a fork, and slit a steam vent in the top. A fantastic bakery-style dessert just doesn't get any easier than this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
432 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2007
First of all, make sure you use an egg wash! Next time I make these I will take a picture--they were gobbled up too quickly this time! This is the easiest recipe. Pepperidge Farm pastry already comes in square sheets, so all you have to do is quarter them with a pizza cutter. Probably the most time-consuming bit is peeling and slicing the apples. Next time I will only use 3 apples and reduce the sugar to 3/4 cup, because we had leftovers--although I'm not complaining, they were delish. You can use apple pie filling if you want, but the crispiness of the sauteed fruit can only come from fresh apples. I cooked my apples a little longer and shortened the baking time since they were browned after 20 minutes. I crimped the edges with a fork when I closed them up--don't worry if a little sauce spills out. (Feel free to add another teaspoon or two of cornstarch/water if your sauce is not thick enough.) They looked like they were store bought but tasted better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
380 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2006
A perfect filling for apple turnovers! I used my own pastry crust, doubled the cinnamon, added a bit of allspice and sprinkled with Demerara sugar crystals rather than glaze. Yummy right out of the oven with a scoop of vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
203 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
I made these the other day and froze them. We took two out yesterday morning, popped them in the oven, and enjoyed them (warm!) for breakfast. They were delicious. I love the flaky crust, and the filling was excellent. Tasted store bought. I'm looking forward to being able to eat them fresh all winter long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
114 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2008
Amazingly good and so easy to make! Make sure to keep the pastry crust cold so that it doesn't fall apart!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hesperia, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
Made these and had great results. Like others, I used apple pie spice, and lined the baking sheet--a must! I had some extra apple filling left--must have used larger apples or something. A friend couldn't believe they were homemade. I plan on trying this out tonight with peach pie filling, and I'm sure they'll turn out just great! (and then maybe cherry pie filling, etc.--will be even quicker to make!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2007
Excellent. Skipped the lemon water bath for the apples, skipped the glaze. Cooked the apples longer than 2 mins - this worked well. Used pepperidge farm pastry sheets - these are amazing. Came out really well - whole family inhaled them. Will make again for sure. Easy and enjoyable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Plymouth, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
Simply delicious! I sealed the pastry and brushed the top with egg whites and sprinkled with sugar. Came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2006
Very good and very easy! I've never made pies or turnovers before, so I was delighted that this turned out well. I followed the other reviewers' suggestions and doubled the amount of cinnamon. Instead of using the glaze, I combined powdered sugar and cinnamon and dusted it over the turnovers. This would be a nice brunch item.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by always_hungry

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Charleston, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2004
I am making these for the second time in two weeks. They are delicious and easy. My husband can't get enough of them. They would be even easier with the use of canned pie filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alcester, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 372) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Apple Turnovers

Anyone can make these delicious homemade apple pastries.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Apple Crisp with Oat Topping

Cinnamon apples bake under a simple topping of sweet, buttery oats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States