Apple Turnovers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
Tastes like Pepperidge Farm turnovers, which is a compliment. Lots of steps to the recipe, but not hard to do. I loved them! I used 5 apples just because I wanted to, doubled the recipe, and used vanilla instead of water in the glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rockwood, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
Easy and out of this world!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
Awesome. I used a mix of Gravenstein and Pippin Apples and they came out perfectly delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
I love the filling but decreased sugar to almost half. Next time, I'll also cut apples into shorter slices so they fit in the turnovers better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
Made these for the second time today. I still can't believe how great these turnovers are. I changed a few minor things in the process though. I added a few tablespoons of white sugar and a little more constarch than originally called for in the cooking apples and for the glaze I used buttermilk instead of regular and I believe a tablespoon and a half of vanilla. For the reviewers who are saying their glaze turns out too liquid-y, there's a quick fix for that: Add more sugar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
This recipe turned out well for the most part. I divided each puff pastry sheet into four squares, but found that they made huge turnovers, so I divided each square into 2 triangles to make smaller triangles. One thing I learned about puff pastry is to never let it thaw for too long, and to let the filling cool before putting it in. Once the pastry gets too warm, it begins to melt before it hits the oven, and the baked result has a soggy, oily, semi see-through look. They tasted really good though! Will try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
Wow, delicious! I used Royal Gala apples, cut the brown sugar down to 1/2 cup packed (I don't like things too sugary sweet) and added 1 T honey. I used a quality vanilla that has vanilla seeds in it and that really enhanced the glaze. Highly recommend. I had to hide them to stop my Hub from eating them all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
I don't eat these but my husband and uncle loved them. I too doubled the cinnamon like the other reviews and otherwise followed the recipe. They loved loved loved them. 2 tips, I found that about 1/4 cup was about the right amount of filling for each turnover and 1 tbsp milk is a little too much for the glaze, it will be too thin so start with a little less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2012
I didn't have time to make a big fancy dessert for a friend's dinner party, so I whipped a batch of these. Quick and easy. Really yummy! My hostess asked me for the recipe afterwards too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2012
Delicious. Read the reviews. Added double the cinnamon AND cut half the sugar, might even cut more next time. it's not necessary. Everyone was right, simple to make and really tasty results!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 365) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Turnovers

Anyone can make these delicious homemade apple pastries.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Apple Crisp with Oat Topping

Cinnamon apples bake under a simple topping of sweet, buttery oats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States