Apple Turnovers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
Helpful tips: Cut the apples into much smaller pieces--faster cooking on the stove, faster, more even cooking in the oven, much easier to fill pastry and easier to eat. You will thank me! Note, you must cook apples much longer than a few minutes--at least 10 minutes prior to adding brown sugar. Egg wash is a must! Also, don't really need all the brown sugar, 1/2 or 3/4 is more than enough. Sprinkle some granulated on the egg wash if you want more sweetness. Also don't need glaze--sweet enough. Line the baking sheet with parchment paper for no pan clean up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
I used canned filling and these were still stellar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SheCanCook
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
Great recipe!! I didn't have puff pastry so I rolled out Pillsbury Crescent rolls and put in a cupcake tin, so my turnover became a popover! I didn't add any water. The liquid from the apples was enough and I still had that sweet cinnamon sauce to drizzle over the popover. The next time I will definitely try the egg wash recommended by other reviewers. This recipe makes me feel like a real pastry chef!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SheCanCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
Absolutely delicious and so easy to make (even for me -- a newbie!) My family ate them for breakfast and dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janice

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
These will get 4 stars for now but they have potential. I may have done something wrong but I had two problems with these. The sauce was definitely not thick enough and the turnovers exploded filling during cooking. The taste is there though! The filling tastes great but I need to work on the consistency of the sauce and execution of the turnover itself. I would definitely recommend lining your pan with parchment in case the filling comes out of the pastry. Next time I make these I will cook them at 375 because at 400 they came out crispier than I prefer. I have made another version of these (but made with jam) and they bake at 375 for 20-25 minutes and I liked the pastry better at that temperature, it was still browned on top but the dough was still soft. I will make these again but with adjustments on cooking temperature and I will look for suggestions of other reviewers on thickening the sauce. I also didn't bother soaking the apples in water and lemon and they turned out just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth Cohen-Tribbie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
It was a great recipe! No real problems ....it probably was just me! I couldn't figure out how to get in LOTS of apples inside the pastry...and it was making a mess...it was good in the end but wasn't pretty ...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hungry Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
Yum, you really don't need to soak the apples in lemon and water. I made with trader joes puff pastry. I made them in the morning before taking my kids to school, so you know it's quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
The reason I am giving this a three is because of the filling. The dough was hard to work with and they burned because the filling didn't stay inside even though I had sealed the ends. Might try again but I don't know.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silverdale, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
I made these for my family. The kids and my husband Loved them.:)In additon, I made some for my husbands coworkers. They replied with an AWESOME!!!! Made me feel GREAT!!!!! Will definitly be making again an again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Guynup

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
Don't make the same mistakes I did! First, be sure to thaw the puff pastry for just 20 minutes, then cut them into the 8 squares- and make sure to place the ones you arent working with in the freezer as you work to put the mixture in each square. The puff pastry does 'melt' just as other people have rated. Also, cut your apples into small squares, not into slices. Otherwise, the apples won't stay put in the square. Use much less sugar, at least 1/2 less. Use light brown sugar, not dark brown sugar (recipe did not specify). Lastly, spray nonstick cooking spray before baking. The recipe did not specify and I figured it didn't need it, and boy was i wrong!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deereyes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 367) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Turnovers

Anyone can make these delicious homemade apple pastries.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Apple Crisp with Oat Topping

Cinnamon apples bake under a simple topping of sweet, buttery oats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States