Apple Turnovers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
Yummy, but mess to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raising24God

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
Great recipe! Following the advice of others, here are the changes to the original recipe 1. Used only 2 good-size apples 2.Chopped apples in smaller pieces. 3. Reduced brown sugar to half cup, and added a sprinkle of freshly grated nutmeg. 4. Cooked apples for about 10 minutes. 5. Let apple mixture cool, before making the turnovers 6.Do not worry about making perfect squares, triangles, or if edges do not seal completely. 7. Brush with egg wash (one egg+1 tablespoon water- beat until well mixed. 7. Line baking sheet with non-stick aluminum paper. 8. Baked for 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
very little flavor and too wet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
Tasted ok, but made a mess in my oven. Wasn't able to close the turnovers properly because the apple mixture was too liquid and running all over the place. In the end I had a big mess of apples and caramel with pastry stuck to my baking sheet, but taste good anyways. I would suggest cutting the apples into very small pieces and making a thick caramel before adding the apples to the pan so the mixture might run less and actually stay inside the puff pastry while cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
Excellent base recipe! I do recommend using about 50% more cornstarch just in case your apples have more water than you expect, but these come out fantastic with puff pastry sheets! So easy. We didn't like the flavor of the glaze, or how pale the turnovers were without the egg wash. So we brushed the turnovers with beaten egg and sprinkled with "raw" sugar instead, and they look just like you'd get from a bakery! I baked them for a working breakfast and they made our morning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
Did not change anything and they turned out great. I had a little difficulty with the dough. I think the sheet I was not working with should have been refrigerated until I was ready to fill and form it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann Fagan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
When I made this recipie, I used pre-made pizza dough. It was so good, that I did not need the glaze! Also if you don't have corn starch, you can use flour ( that's what I had to do) but you have to be careful not to use to much, and it constantly has to be heated. If you have left over Apple mix place it In a greased casserole dish, sprinkle on oats, and some more brown sugar, and bake at 400 ferrinhight for about 25 min. Then enjoy with ice cream! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cocoemmerich
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
This recipe is so good! Eat them for breakfast or with a little vanilla ice cream for a yummy desert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cocoemmerich

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oceanside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
I made these from apples from our trees. The only thing I can say is put lots of apples in the turnovers. The second time I made these I didn't put many in and it wasn't as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
This was excellent without the additional glaze. I just wanted to cut back on some of the calories. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 393) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Turnovers

Anyone can make these delicious homemade apple pastries.

Apple Crisp with Oat Topping

Cinnamon apples bake under a simple topping of sweet, buttery oats.

Apple Slab Pie

Apple pie baked in a rectangular pan with a crumble topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States