Apple Turnovers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
I tried it exactly as written, except that I added just a little more cinnamon, and a pinch of nutmeg and allspice. I did also have to use about 1 tsp more cornstarch to get it thicken like I wanted. I thought it turned out great. Very tasty and pretty easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
I made these for my family and friends and they LOVED these!! I put caramel topping on them. Next time will try with only the sugar topping. they are so easy to make, although a bit messy. Thanks for this recipe. Msmoney
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
Made this Christmas Day. They were easy to do and delicious. Family loved them. Skipped the lemon water. Used three gala apples because I'm not fond of Granny Smith apples. Used 3/4 cup brown sugar and was plenty sweet enough. Brushed edges with a bit of beaten egg before sealing with a fork and even though I added quite a bit of filling they only oozed very little. They puffed up nicely and turned a beautiful golden brown. I will make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
The filling was OK, basic. I'm not sure of the point of GS apples, I'd think you'd want to cook the filling down a little more than they easily allow. For the first time in years, I tried Pillsbury packaged puff pastry for the sheets. Let's just say I won't be stocking my fridge up with that product.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mackie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
Great Recipe! My family ate these up within minutes. Make sure you seal the edges with a fork. I still had some leakage, but I like a lot of apples. They are best when they are from the oven, slightly cooled with the glazed. Yum Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gkfederman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
A wonderful recipe, my family & I really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
Helpful tips: Cut the apples into much smaller pieces--faster cooking on the stove, faster, more even cooking in the oven, much easier to fill pastry and easier to eat. You will thank me! Note, you must cook apples much longer than a few minutes--at least 10 minutes prior to adding brown sugar. Egg wash is a must! Also, don't really need all the brown sugar, 1/2 or 3/4 is more than enough. Sprinkle some granulated on the egg wash if you want more sweetness. Also don't need glaze--sweet enough. Line the baking sheet with parchment paper for no pan clean up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
I used canned filling and these were still stellar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SheCanCook
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
Great recipe!! I didn't have puff pastry so I rolled out Pillsbury Crescent rolls and put in a cupcake tin, so my turnover became a popover! I didn't add any water. The liquid from the apples was enough and I still had that sweet cinnamon sauce to drizzle over the popover. The next time I will definitely try the egg wash recommended by other reviewers. This recipe makes me feel like a real pastry chef!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SheCanCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
Absolutely delicious and so easy to make (even for me -- a newbie!) My family ate them for breakfast and dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janice

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 394) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Turnovers

Anyone can make these delicious homemade apple pastries.

Apple Crisp with Oat Topping

Cinnamon apples bake under a simple topping of sweet, buttery oats.

Apple Slab Pie

Apple pie baked in a rectangular pan with a crumble topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States