Apple Turnovers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by SheCanCook
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
Great recipe!! I didn't have puff pastry so I rolled out Pillsbury Crescent rolls and put in a cupcake tin, so my turnover became a popover! I didn't add any water. The liquid from the apples was enough and I still had that sweet cinnamon sauce to drizzle over the popover. The next time I will definitely try the egg wash recommended by other reviewers. This recipe makes me feel like a real pastry chef!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SheCanCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
Absolutely delicious and so easy to make (even for me -- a newbie!) My family ate them for breakfast and dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janice

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
These will get 4 stars for now but they have potential. I may have done something wrong but I had two problems with these. The sauce was definitely not thick enough and the turnovers exploded filling during cooking. The taste is there though! The filling tastes great but I need to work on the consistency of the sauce and execution of the turnover itself. I would definitely recommend lining your pan with parchment in case the filling comes out of the pastry. Next time I make these I will cook them at 375 because at 400 they came out crispier than I prefer. I have made another version of these (but made with jam) and they bake at 375 for 20-25 minutes and I liked the pastry better at that temperature, it was still browned on top but the dough was still soft. I will make these again but with adjustments on cooking temperature and I will look for suggestions of other reviewers on thickening the sauce. I also didn't bother soaking the apples in water and lemon and they turned out just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth Cohen-Tribbie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
It was a great recipe! No real problems ....it probably was just me! I couldn't figure out how to get in LOTS of apples inside the pastry...and it was making a mess...it was good in the end but wasn't pretty ...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hungry Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
Yum, you really don't need to soak the apples in lemon and water. I made with trader joes puff pastry. I made them in the morning before taking my kids to school, so you know it's quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
The reason I am giving this a three is because of the filling. The dough was hard to work with and they burned because the filling didn't stay inside even though I had sealed the ends. Might try again but I don't know.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silverdale, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
I made these for my family. The kids and my husband Loved them.:)In additon, I made some for my husbands coworkers. They replied with an AWESOME!!!! Made me feel GREAT!!!!! Will definitly be making again an again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Guynup

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
Don't make the same mistakes I did! First, be sure to thaw the puff pastry for just 20 minutes, then cut them into the 8 squares- and make sure to place the ones you arent working with in the freezer as you work to put the mixture in each square. The puff pastry does 'melt' just as other people have rated. Also, cut your apples into small squares, not into slices. Otherwise, the apples won't stay put in the square. Use much less sugar, at least 1/2 less. Use light brown sugar, not dark brown sugar (recipe did not specify). Lastly, spray nonstick cooking spray before baking. The recipe did not specify and I figured it didn't need it, and boy was i wrong!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deereyes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
i just made these well they are in the oven now and i diced the apple up instead of slicing and i would only use 2-3 apples next time. There is a lot of mix left over but thats okay we are using it with ice cream
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spencer, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
Made as directed but with Empire apples. My husband said it's the best thing he's ever eaten!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 386) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Turnovers

Anyone can make these delicious homemade apple pastries.

Apple Crisp with Oat Topping

Cinnamon apples bake under a simple topping of sweet, buttery oats.

Apple Slab Pie

Apple pie baked in a rectangular pan with a crumble topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States