Apple Turnovers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by Amanda P
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
These turned out fantastic!! Super fast and tasted great. Not too sweet, which I was worried about. I personally think you only need to make half the glaze for them, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda P

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
The chocolate cookie was great. The frosting was good but it should be cut in half. Everybody enjoyed it in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
Sucked at making. Tasted good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
Tastes great BUT... Soaked apples have a lot of water and the filling was really liquidy. I had to add extra corn starch and drain the apples. Plus don't really need to cook the apples much before cooking for 20 minutes. I'm going to look for a raw apple recipe for next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
The recipe sounded easy, but I was disappointed. The syrup was too thin even though I added a little more cornstarch as others suggested. For the second sheet of dough, I used mini pie pans, lined with a piece of dough, filled with the apples and sauce, then brought up four corners of the dough to make a packet. That seemed to prevent seepage. All that's missing is a scoop of vanilla ice crean!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elinor3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grove, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
Made them twice! Really good turnovers & easy to make.. I almost burned them the first time though, so they really have to be watched.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
I loved this recipe. I used 2 golden delicious and 2 granny smith apples. I also didn't use the water bath as I just put the apples cut into smaller pieces and put some lemon juice (1tbsp) on them as I let the butter melt. I was wanting to take a picture but they disappeared before I had a chance to. Already have everything I need to make another batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
These apple turnovers came out so good. We could not stop eating them. I made a few small changes by added 1/2 cup of brown sugar instead of a full cup and they were plenty sweet with a nice tart finish. I also added more apples. Another suggestion is to buy a very good quality pastry dough made with butter instead of a commercial brand made with trans fats. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
The family loves these but I'm not a huge fan of desserts that feature apples. My only suggestion is to bake these on parchment paper or a silpat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
These are a huge hit everytime I make them! Be careful how much you fill them because they leak can be hard to close.I did cook the apples a little longer, so they were softer, but that's just personal preference. I recommend using a little more cornstarch than the recipe calls for, so the sauce is thicker. I have had to make double batches of these, and they are the first dessert gone at every gathering!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jlhadley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 394) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Apple Turnovers

Anyone can make these delicious homemade apple pastries.

Apple Crisp with Oat Topping

Cinnamon apples bake under a simple topping of sweet, buttery oats.

Apple Slab Pie

Apple pie baked in a rectangular pan with a crumble topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States