Apple Turnovers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
These will get 4 stars for now but they have potential. I may have done something wrong but I had two problems with these. The sauce was definitely not thick enough and the turnovers exploded filling during cooking. The taste is there though! The filling tastes great but I need to work on the consistency of the sauce and execution of the turnover itself. I would definitely recommend lining your pan with parchment in case the filling comes out of the pastry. Next time I make these I will cook them at 375 because at 400 they came out crispier than I prefer. I have made another version of these (but made with jam) and they bake at 375 for 20-25 minutes and I liked the pastry better at that temperature, it was still browned on top but the dough was still soft. I will make these again but with adjustments on cooking temperature and I will look for suggestions of other reviewers on thickening the sauce. I also didn't bother soaking the apples in water and lemon and they turned out just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth Cohen-Tribbie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
It was a great recipe! No real problems ....it probably was just me! I couldn't figure out how to get in LOTS of apples inside the pastry...and it was making a mess...it was good in the end but wasn't pretty ...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hungry Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
Yum, you really don't need to soak the apples in lemon and water. I made with trader joes puff pastry. I made them in the morning before taking my kids to school, so you know it's quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
The reason I am giving this a three is because of the filling. The dough was hard to work with and they burned because the filling didn't stay inside even though I had sealed the ends. Might try again but I don't know.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silverdale, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
I made these for my family. The kids and my husband Loved them.:)In additon, I made some for my husbands coworkers. They replied with an AWESOME!!!! Made me feel GREAT!!!!! Will definitly be making again an again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Guynup

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
Don't make the same mistakes I did! First, be sure to thaw the puff pastry for just 20 minutes, then cut them into the 8 squares- and make sure to place the ones you arent working with in the freezer as you work to put the mixture in each square. The puff pastry does 'melt' just as other people have rated. Also, cut your apples into small squares, not into slices. Otherwise, the apples won't stay put in the square. Use much less sugar, at least 1/2 less. Use light brown sugar, not dark brown sugar (recipe did not specify). Lastly, spray nonstick cooking spray before baking. The recipe did not specify and I figured it didn't need it, and boy was i wrong!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deereyes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
i just made these well they are in the oven now and i diced the apple up instead of slicing and i would only use 2-3 apples next time. There is a lot of mix left over but thats okay we are using it with ice cream
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spencer, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
Made as directed but with Empire apples. My husband said it's the best thing he's ever eaten!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
My company showed me their empty plates! It was quick which was even better! Thanks for making a great quick recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
Tastes like Pepperidge Farm turnovers, which is a compliment. Lots of steps to the recipe, but not hard to do. I loved them! I used 5 apples just because I wanted to, doubled the recipe, and used vanilla instead of water in the glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rockwood, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 364) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Turnovers

Anyone can make these delicious homemade apple pastries.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Apple Crisp with Oat Topping

Cinnamon apples bake under a simple topping of sweet, buttery oats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States