Apple Turnovers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
I made these from apples from our trees. The only thing I can say is put lots of apples in the turnovers. The second time I made these I didn't put many in and it wasn't as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
This was excellent without the additional glaze. I just wanted to cut back on some of the calories. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
Skipped the lemon water and just put a tablespoon of the juice in the skillet (Apples have enough moisture without adding water). Needed to use 2TBLS worth of cornstarch just to thicken a little. Noticed the egg wash was missing...so brushed egg wash made of one egg and a TBL of water onto the raw turnovers. Looked and tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
I love this recipe! I've used it several times, but I adjust a few things. I only cut the pastry into fourths once-otherwise I have a hard time fitting the apples in! In the past I used the Granny Smith apples recommended but today I tried fresh-picked courtlands. It came out incredible! I also use a caramel drizzle made with butter, brown sugar, and heavy cream. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
Wow, these ARE better than the bakery! I didn't do it exactly as directed b/c im a bit lazy. Skipped the lemon water soak - just squeezed a little lemon on the apples for flavor. Also used honey crisp apples, and added a dash of nutmeg. Really easy and good thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chrolivi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sterling, Illinois, USA
Living In: Alburnett, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
Made as written, and found the apples had a lot of extra sauce when done cooking. We kept that sauce and used it instead of the sugar glaze. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2013
As I had a leftover rolled pie crust (I had previously made spicy beef turnovers), I decided to make apple turnovers as I had a lot of organic apples hubby brought home from a co-worker. As only one was Granny Smith, I also had to use a Fuji apple. I knew the pie crust would not rise much as it is not a puff pastry. I read reviews and used less brown sugar and more cinnamon. I left the apples too long on the stove & so they were a bit browned. I didn't use the glaze but made sure I sealed with an egg & then brushed the tops of the 4 turnovers with the egg. I never brought the paper for the baking sheet and knew they wouldn't stick because I have a very good sheet. The worst part was trying to fill the pastry! Came out excellent, will make this recipe again! Don't forget to make a few slits on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
Before placing in the oven, I gave the turnover an egg wash and sprinkled sugar on the egg wash. This gives the turnover a nice sweet crispy texture. As an alternative for step 2, I mix small pieces of apple (diced) with raisins, brown sugar, cinnamon and a little bit of apple spices. This mixture is not precooked in a skillet but directly placed on the puff pastry sheet. I lower the temperature to 350 degrees and keep the turnovers in oven 10 minutes longer (35 minutes).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
This recipe is absolutely delicious. Next time I will soak raisins and add them as a special treat. I loved them with just powdered sugar on them and if you go to Peperidge farm they show you how to cut the dough into squares. Thank you for sharing this recipe with me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bklein

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Clifton Heights, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
these were great! my family loves them :) tips: 1. the purpose of soaking the apples is just so they dont brown and you can skip that step however if you do follow that step after straining the apples place them on some paper towel to pull out a bit more of the liquid 2. it does help to cook the apples a little more just to thicken the sauce they are in.. when they bake the sauce heats up and becomes runny so the thicker the better 3. the pastry can be a really difficult product to work with because it has to stay cold so keeping the product in the refrigerator while not in use helps also rolling the pastry in a cold surface helps a lot... something like a frozen cookie sheet or a slab of marble will help to keep it cold for as long as possible
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 395) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Turnovers

Anyone can make these delicious homemade apple pastries.

Apple Crisp with Oat Topping

Cinnamon apples bake under a simple topping of sweet, buttery oats.

Apple Slab Pie

Apple pie baked in a rectangular pan with a crumble topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States