Apple Turnovers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
these were great! my family loves them :) tips: 1. the purpose of soaking the apples is just so they dont brown and you can skip that step however if you do follow that step after straining the apples place them on some paper towel to pull out a bit more of the liquid 2. it does help to cook the apples a little more just to thicken the sauce they are in.. when they bake the sauce heats up and becomes runny so the thicker the better 3. the pastry can be a really difficult product to work with because it has to stay cold so keeping the product in the refrigerator while not in use helps also rolling the pastry in a cold surface helps a lot... something like a frozen cookie sheet or a slab of marble will help to keep it cold for as long as possible
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DEE4242
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
I use Fuji apples for all my baked goods. I peel, core and chop ahead, then sprinkle lemon juice and cinnamon liberally, and mix. Place in a covered container in the fridge up to 3 days ahead. Cook apples as directed in butter, add brown sugar and cinnamon mix. Mix a tablesppon of cold water with Wondra flour, and str in to apple mixture. Add a dallop of cream cheese, and stir until mixed well. Add a tablespoon of vanilla just before removing from stove, and stir. Let mixture cool while preparing pastry. I use Pepperidge Farm frozen pastry sheets and after rolling out, I make 6 turnovers per sheet. Using turnover molds, place filling in center, brush edges with egg wash, seal edges and brush pastry with egg white wash. Sprinkle with sugar sprinkles and bake as directed. Once pastry has cooled, hubby likes to slice the pastry and fill each side with whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEE4242

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
After reading a couple of reviews, I cut the sugar in half and thought it was plenty sweet. I also added a bit of lemon juice and vanilla to the filling mix. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
easy to make, simply delicious.I used only have of cinnamon and added nutmeg and I went half of granny and half golden apples .again simply delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hanniuska

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Madrid, Madrid, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
Very good. Added another 2 Tbls butter. My daughter ate the small amount of leftovers out of the skillet. I also used flour added to the cinnamon/brown sugar, since I was out of cornstarch. Tasted just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Living In: Owensboro, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2013
huge hit! I have made these several times and they never last long. I made the mistake of using wax paper instead of parchment paper...DONT do that!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stewey

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: El Sobrante, California, USA
Living In: Martinez, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
loved it. easy and tasty. have to find an easy tasty pastry because the store bought it very expensive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
So easy to make and so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2013
loved this .. didnt make the glaze though.. used custard powder instead of the cornstarch. it got over so quickly yummmmmmmmmmmmmm .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sania

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2013
should have used an egg wash, but they sealed up just fine. i did NOT soak in water and lemon juice. i used 3 Granny Smith and 2 Fuji's and it came out fine, also cooked about 4 minutes. next time i will just try with a bunch of apples and see if it makes a difference. no glaze either, they were fine plain and perhaps could have used some powdered sugar but other than that quite perfect for the first time out of the box. one other tip, if your wife wants a second one, DON'T hide them, and give it to her or she won't talk to you for the rest of the night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Essex, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 386) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Turnovers

Anyone can make these delicious homemade apple pastries.

Apple Crisp with Oat Topping

Cinnamon apples bake under a simple topping of sweet, buttery oats.

Apple Slab Pie

Apple pie baked in a rectangular pan with a crumble topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States