Apple Turnovers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
The chocolate cookie was great. The frosting was good but it should be cut in half. Everybody enjoyed it in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
Sucked at making. Tasted good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
Tastes great BUT... Soaked apples have a lot of water and the filling was really liquidy. I had to add extra corn starch and drain the apples. Plus don't really need to cook the apples much before cooking for 20 minutes. I'm going to look for a raw apple recipe for next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
The recipe sounded easy, but I was disappointed. The syrup was too thin even though I added a little more cornstarch as others suggested. For the second sheet of dough, I used mini pie pans, lined with a piece of dough, filled with the apples and sauce, then brought up four corners of the dough to make a packet. That seemed to prevent seepage. All that's missing is a scoop of vanilla ice crean!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elinor3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grove, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
Made them twice! Really good turnovers & easy to make.. I almost burned them the first time though, so they really have to be watched.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
I loved this recipe. I used 2 golden delicious and 2 granny smith apples. I also didn't use the water bath as I just put the apples cut into smaller pieces and put some lemon juice (1tbsp) on them as I let the butter melt. I was wanting to take a picture but they disappeared before I had a chance to. Already have everything I need to make another batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
These apple turnovers came out so good. We could not stop eating them. I made a few small changes by added 1/2 cup of brown sugar instead of a full cup and they were plenty sweet with a nice tart finish. I also added more apples. Another suggestion is to buy a very good quality pastry dough made with butter instead of a commercial brand made with trans fats. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
The family loves these but I'm not a huge fan of desserts that feature apples. My only suggestion is to bake these on parchment paper or a silpat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
These are a huge hit everytime I make them! Be careful how much you fill them because they leak can be hard to close.I did cook the apples a little longer, so they were softer, but that's just personal preference. I recommend using a little more cornstarch than the recipe calls for, so the sauce is thicker. I have had to make double batches of these, and they are the first dessert gone at every gathering!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jlhadley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
I tried it exactly as written, except that I added just a little more cinnamon, and a pinch of nutmeg and allspice. I did also have to use about 1 tsp more cornstarch to get it thicken like I wanted. I thought it turned out great. Very tasty and pretty easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 373) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Apple Turnovers

Anyone can make these delicious homemade apple pastries.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Apple Crisp with Oat Topping

Cinnamon apples bake under a simple topping of sweet, buttery oats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States