Apple Turnovers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
When I made this recipie, I used pre-made pizza dough. It was so good, that I did not need the glaze! Also if you don't have corn starch, you can use flour ( that's what I had to do) but you have to be careful not to use to much, and it constantly has to be heated. If you have left over Apple mix place it In a greased casserole dish, sprinkle on oats, and some more brown sugar, and bake at 400 ferrinhight for about 25 min. Then enjoy with ice cream! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cocoemmerich
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
This recipe is so good! Eat them for breakfast or with a little vanilla ice cream for a yummy desert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cocoemmerich

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oceanside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
I made these from apples from our trees. The only thing I can say is put lots of apples in the turnovers. The second time I made these I didn't put many in and it wasn't as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
This was excellent without the additional glaze. I just wanted to cut back on some of the calories. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
Skipped the lemon water and just put a tablespoon of the juice in the skillet (Apples have enough moisture without adding water). Needed to use 2TBLS worth of cornstarch just to thicken a little. Noticed the egg wash was missing...so brushed egg wash made of one egg and a TBL of water onto the raw turnovers. Looked and tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
I love this recipe! I've used it several times, but I adjust a few things. I only cut the pastry into fourths once-otherwise I have a hard time fitting the apples in! In the past I used the Granny Smith apples recommended but today I tried fresh-picked courtlands. It came out incredible! I also use a caramel drizzle made with butter, brown sugar, and heavy cream. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
Wow, these ARE better than the bakery! I didn't do it exactly as directed b/c im a bit lazy. Skipped the lemon water soak - just squeezed a little lemon on the apples for flavor. Also used honey crisp apples, and added a dash of nutmeg. Really easy and good thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chrolivi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sterling, Illinois, USA
Living In: Alburnett, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
Made as written, and found the apples had a lot of extra sauce when done cooking. We kept that sauce and used it instead of the sugar glaze. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2013
As I had a leftover rolled pie crust (I had previously made spicy beef turnovers), I decided to make apple turnovers as I had a lot of organic apples hubby brought home from a co-worker. As only one was Granny Smith, I also had to use a Fuji apple. I knew the pie crust would not rise much as it is not a puff pastry. I read reviews and used less brown sugar and more cinnamon. I left the apples too long on the stove & so they were a bit browned. I didn't use the glaze but made sure I sealed with an egg & then brushed the tops of the 4 turnovers with the egg. I never brought the paper for the baking sheet and knew they wouldn't stick because I have a very good sheet. The worst part was trying to fill the pastry! Came out excellent, will make this recipe again! Don't forget to make a few slits on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
Before placing in the oven, I gave the turnover an egg wash and sprinkled sugar on the egg wash. This gives the turnover a nice sweet crispy texture. As an alternative for step 2, I mix small pieces of apple (diced) with raisins, brown sugar, cinnamon and a little bit of apple spices. This mixture is not precooked in a skillet but directly placed on the puff pastry sheet. I lower the temperature to 350 degrees and keep the turnovers in oven 10 minutes longer (35 minutes).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 387) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Turnovers

Anyone can make these delicious homemade apple pastries.

Apple Crisp with Oat Topping

Cinnamon apples bake under a simple topping of sweet, buttery oats.

Apple Slab Pie

Apple pie baked in a rectangular pan with a crumble topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States