Apple Turnovers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
easy to make, simply delicious.I used only have of cinnamon and added nutmeg and I went half of granny and half golden apples .again simply delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hanniuska

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Madrid, Madrid, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
Very good. Added another 2 Tbls butter. My daughter ate the small amount of leftovers out of the skillet. I also used flour added to the cinnamon/brown sugar, since I was out of cornstarch. Tasted just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Living In: Owensboro, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2013
huge hit! I have made these several times and they never last long. I made the mistake of using wax paper instead of parchment paper...DONT do that!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stewey

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: El Sobrante, California, USA
Living In: Martinez, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
loved it. easy and tasty. have to find an easy tasty pastry because the store bought it very expensive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
So easy to make and so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2013
loved this .. didnt make the glaze though.. used custard powder instead of the cornstarch. it got over so quickly yummmmmmmmmmmmmm .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sania

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2013
should have used an egg wash, but they sealed up just fine. i did NOT soak in water and lemon juice. i used 3 Granny Smith and 2 Fuji's and it came out fine, also cooked about 4 minutes. next time i will just try with a bunch of apples and see if it makes a difference. no glaze either, they were fine plain and perhaps could have used some powdered sugar but other than that quite perfect for the first time out of the box. one other tip, if your wife wants a second one, DON'T hide them, and give it to her or she won't talk to you for the rest of the night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Essex, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
I got a Granny Smith apple hanging around on my kitchen bench for over a week. Didn't like eating old apples so I searched for an easy and quick recipe. I got this one and I whipped it up within 30 minutes! I adjusted the serving size to 2 so the recipe called for 1 apple. Turned out I could make 4 pieces. I skipped the water bath and added 1/2 tsp vanilla extract. Also, I didn't bother making the frosting. Next time I'll egg wash them and sprinkle with raw sugar before baking. Got problem with the sealing too though I pressed them using a fork and cut a slit. A tip that I'll try next time is to brush the edges of pastry with egg wash which will act like a glue helping the pastry to stick together. I don't understand why some reviewers rated this recipe based on problems they had with working with puff pastry. Just find something to read and you'll know how to handle it properly. Btw, I ate 2 of these in one go. :P
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alyssa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
They tasted great, but I'm not entirely sure they were worth the trouble! I will probably try it again, keeping in mind that: - I had a ton of leftover apples because they wouldn't fit in the puff pastries - Even after repairing tears in the puff pastry sheets, the liquid from the apples leaked out and made it very difficult to get them off the baking sheet without breaking them - The apples could probably be sliced and then the slices cut in half in order to help them fit in the pastries better They tasted GREAT, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mumof3
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
These turned out fantastic!! Super fast and tasted great. Not too sweet, which I was worried about. I personally think you only need to make half the glaze for them, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mumof3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

Displaying results 41-50 (of 373) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Apple Turnovers

Anyone can make these delicious homemade apple pastries.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Apple Crisp with Oat Topping

Cinnamon apples bake under a simple topping of sweet, buttery oats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States