Apple Turnovers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
Super easy and came out just like the store bought (in a tube) variety except much tastier! One thing I recommend is to add half the sugar and taste before adding the rest---you might prefer it less sweet (my family did). Especially important if using less tart apples. Also, the recipe says to let the filling "cool slightly" before using. I only let it cool about 6 minutes and the heat of the filling caused the puff pastry dough to thin considerably and leak on the bottom of the first few turnovers I made. In future, I will let the filling cool quite a bit more before filling. I noticed one reviewer complaining the filling was not thick enough. This can happen if the apple variety you use is juicier than normal or if you cook a bit too long(so more liquid produced). Not a problem, just add another tablespoon of cornstarch (mixed with a bit of water first, as the recipe says). I did this and it thickened just fine. Alternatively, you can just spoon up the apples with a slotted spoon and use the liquid for something else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
My turnovers were amazing!!!! Of course I through my own twist on them. I made 2 different kinds. I added golden raisins in my apple mixture, then my other was a strawberry rhubarb turnover....TOO DIE FOR......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chamia Mitchell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
As my first attempt at apple turnover this was a great, easy to follow recipe. The only issue I ran into at all was a little hard to close the edges of the pastry crust. Super easy though and tasted delicious! Will certainly make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
I love the turn overs I had to hide them form the family so they would last. I made my own flaky crust. Awesome treat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
Great Apple Filling Recipe and I used Cortland Apples. I used Pillsbury Crescent Seamless Dough Sheets and shaped them as Turnovers and Popovers. I then brushed them with the Egg Wash and sprinkled Sugar. You will need to adjust your Oven Temperature, to 375 Degrees, and only Cook them for 10-13 Minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SugarPlum♥
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2014
These came out great. The crust is very flaky. I cut the recipe in half and just made 4. I didn't bother with soaking the apples first and I also served them plain without the glaze. They were still plenty sweet without the glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SugarPlum♥

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Joseph
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
We used fresh apples we picked the day before to make these turnovers. They were excellent, not too sweet, not too tart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
They turned out wonderful! I also added a handful of sultanas to the apple filling - delicious! I wound definitely recommend making them with the glaze - it just elevates the recipe to the new level!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elena King

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
They where so tasty. Didn't change anything. Excellent quick treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Smits

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LaurenP
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
Love this! Used puff pastry shells instead and filled with the apple filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 393) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Turnovers

Anyone can make these delicious homemade apple pastries.

Apple Crisp with Oat Topping

Cinnamon apples bake under a simple topping of sweet, buttery oats.

Apple Slab Pie

Apple pie baked in a rectangular pan with a crumble topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States